I Tuned In

and I’m sorry, I’m still unimpressed.

My congressman sent the following email this evening and it sums up exactly what I thought of the whole thing very nicely (underlined parts are my exact thoughts)-

Earlier tonight, President Barack Obama addressed a Joint Session of Congress with the intent of winning support for his health care experiment from skeptical lawmakers and citizens alike.  Unfortunately, with yet another speech filled with too many broad statements and too few specifics, I’m afraid the President has done little more than voted “present” on health care reform.

For my part, I was sincerely hoping that he would call for a new start to the process that would include ideas from both sides of the aisle.  Unfortunately, once again President Obama’s idea of “bi-partisan” is to tell us to vote for his plan.

Yep, that says it in a nutshell.

And furthermore, evil & heartless like I am, I feel the need to reiterate-  I do not owe you or anybody else health care coverage.  That is YOUR responsibility- struggling family, struggling single parent, struggling student, starving artist, malnourished mime, whatever.  Just because I bust my ass to see my family is covered doesn’t mean I owe you anything.  I can empathize with your situation, I’ve been there.  However, nobody else pulled my ass out of the crack, damned if you need yours pulled out.

Health care reform-

Stop these stupid lawsuits that award millions upon millions.  Doctors and hospitals wouldn’t have to carry so much malpractice insurance, prices would go down.

Stop the stupid spiral of charge more/pay less, whether it’s Medicare, Medicaid or private insurance.  This could be regulated.

Put an end to allowing insurance companies to dredge up crap to cancel your coverage only after you’ve filed a claim.  They should be given 90 days to “vet” you and if they don’t find evil pre-existing conditions in those 90 days, tough tit.

Take Medicaid away from able bodied young folks.  I’m sick of the number of 20 somethings on Medicaid.  They can afford camera phones, Escalades, & cable.  I’m sick and tired of paying their medical coverage.  If they can afford that $10 bottle of booze at the liquor store, they can afford to buy their own bottle of Advil instead of needing a doctor to write a prescription for Motrin where they don’t have to pay a dime for it.  Screw that.

Quit creating 10,000,000 miles of red tape for those on Medicare.  Damnit all, it takes a rocket scientist to understand some of that shit.  Why is there Part A, Part B & why do you need auxiliary Part D coverage?  Bullshit.

Fix Medicaid.  Fix Medicare.  I mean fix it, not just pump more money into it.  FIX IT.

Prove to me Congress that you can do that and then I’ll listen to your ideas on “fixing” insurance for the general public and possibly treat them with credibility.

Above all, quit trying to make me feel guilty for not wanting to pay for your insurance.  It’s not going to work.  Seriously, it isn’t.  I’m not going to lose sleep over it one damned bit.

Notice while I’ve been told I’m evil, vile, & heartless, I haven’t pointed out that I feel that 50% of those who are screaming for their free health care are a bunch of gold digging freeloaders.