Can someone explain to me

why some folks think investors with BIG money who invest in companies don’t deserve to make big “profits”

and

where the hell is the fire department “free”?

Around here, if you’re out in the county the closest thing to “free” is the volunteer fire departments.

Where I used to live (in the “city”) you had to pay dues.

Attention folks who think Government Run Health Care would be free- IT’S ONLY GONNA BE FREE TO SOME FOLKS.  I do NOT WANT to pay for YOUR health care.  I’m sorry if you’re sick & if I have money I can AFFORD to donate to your cause AND WANT TO, I will.

However, don’t tell me I OWE it to you because you’re low income, single parent, poor, pitiful and suffering.

I’ve been low income for 4 years now- hell, I just found out last week that I actually fall below the poverty line!  Wheeeeee!  Bring on the freebies.

No, I take that back.  I’ll keep treading water like I have been.

I’ve been a single parent!  I kept treading water then too and paid for insurance for my youngin.

When you turn in your camera phones, computers, televisions, spare vehicles, your hobbies (they cost money!), give up eating out ANY meals, have to eat bologna instead of pricy “organic” foods…in other words, when you give up all the inessential expenses in your life and you STILL cannot eat & pay your medical care expenses, THEN talk to me.

Averages per month:

Cell phone   $50.00
Internet connection   $30.00
Cable/satellite:   $45.00
Spare vehicle, plus insurance:  $350
2 Meals/week for a month eaten out family of 2:  $120
Hobby fund:  $50

$645 per month.

You can get health care coverage for that amount of money every month, even buying an individual policy.

Why shouldn’t there be pre-exisiting coverage limits?

You go 50 years of your life and never brush your teeth.  Along comes Sally & she thinks you have a yuck mouth, so you decide to get your teeth all fixed.  You find out that will cost around $5000, so you decide to rush out and buy insurance.

Um, where is it fair to make an insurance company pay for you not ever brushing your teeth after you’ve only paid ONE fragging premium?

Same thing if you wait until you’ve got a killer case of lung cancer before you seek out medical insurance.  It just doesn’t make sense.

Now, if you’re forced to change policies/companies, that’s a slightly different story.  If your employeer changes companies mid-stream of your illness, the “new” coverage should basically pick up where the old left off.

Hmmm.  In MOST cases, that’s how I’ve always seen it work too…imagine that.

So let me recap-

I should loan you a billion dollars and not expect to see but 2-3% interest on that loan.
You should have all your wants and I should pay your health care.
You should ignore your health until it’s really bad, then expect someone else to pay for your rehabilitation.

Yep, support public health care!  It’s the NEW American way!

Damn, I want the OLD American way back.  You know, the one where you earn what you get and don’t expect a handout.

Edited to add:

To folks who think the GOVERNMENT really runs Medicare and Medicaid, I’d like to offer you a rude awakening.  Very little of the MEDICAID system is government run.  Medicaid for the MOST part was farmed out to a PRIVATE company called DORAL.  DORAL was handpicked by the government.  Doral has had MANY complaints lodged against them for their handling of claims and huge upper management profits pocketed.  The GOVERNMENT has NOT seen fit to dig into these complaints.  ABC, CBS & NBC reported on Doral a couple of years ago BEFORE all this health care reform crap started.

The GOVERNMENT themselves admitted their running of MEDICAID was a complete cluster fuck.  They couldn’t handle the number of patients that were enrolled.  Their websites couldn’t handle it.  Their administration couldn’t handle it.  Their number one answer when calling for information from customer service was I DON’T KNOW.  The turn around time on requests made by phone- 1-2 weeks IF EVER.  The turn around time on WRITTEN requests was generally 1-2 months.