Life’s Embarrassing Moments

Wyatt’s reply of “if the van’s a-rockin’, don’t come a-knocking” reminded me of something.

Many years ago when I was young and carefree, I enjoyed the old pastime of “parking”. (Oh hell, who am I kidding? I’d still enjoy parking if it weren’t for the fact I have two kids and I’m now worried some wacko is just sitting in bushes somewhere waiting for a pair of parkers to um, park.)

Anyway, the flavor of the month and I had driven down to the lake late one night and decided some smooching was in order. He found a nice romantic looking spot, turned some decent music on and well, the smooching began.

Things were progressing normally in the parking kind of way- windows were all adequately fogged up, clothes were getting loosened, mood was right…

When there was a tap, tap, tap on the window. Then a flashlight was being aimed at us. (Thank goodness for only “loosened” clothes!).

Yep, it was the fuzz, man. And not just any officer.

It was my bus driver from when I was in school. Gulp.

First he had a good laugh. My date, 5 years my junior (I was 24, so I wasn’t exactly cradle robbing!) didn’t find much humor in it. Nineteen year old guys are fun to date, but they’re not too good when under pressure like that.

After recovering from his laugh, Sammy departed with, “You two have fun & remember to lock your doors.”.

Needless to say, the mood was killed and now everytime I see Sammy, I get the “remember when I caught you at the lake” look. 😀

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Murphy
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 19:20:42

    Heh,

    Look at the bright side, at least it was a flashlight and not a video camera…

  2. snigsspot
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 19:29:43

    I’m not sure video cameras had been invented back then. 😛

  3. RT
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 02:27:32

    Glad I never got caught. I miss steaming up windows. *sigh*

  4. snigsspot
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 02:40:32

    I miss it too RT. *sigh* is right. Might be a good thing though, for me anyway. It would probably take a contortionist to make out in the back seat of today’s cars.

  5. Wyatt Earp
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 18:03:53

    That’s hot.

    Heh.