Ice buckets, ALS, good, evil & God…

Wow, who would have thought such debate & discord could ever come of the above ingredients?

First of all, let me say I’m not exactly a proponent of abortion. I’m not exactly against it, either. (Although I’m extremely anti late-stage abortion) It’s not my choice to make, if the outcome is burning in Hell for it, I won’t be burning for anyone else’s abortion. Being adopted, you can bet your butt I AM a proponent for adoption, but sadly, not all children are adopted by wonderful, caring, intelligent people like I was. Some have to live in Children’s Homes, orphanages, whatever you want to call them. Having personally seen what goes on IN those homes, the lives so many of those children have to lead, how it’s pure Hell on those children…well, I have to say possibly abortion would be the less cruel thing.

But that’s not my point.

Facts:
The shock of cold experienced in the “Ice Bucket Challenge” somewhat mimics the extreme muscular and neurological pain ALS patients suffer all during the day. The purpose of the challenge- call attention to a disease many, many people have no clue about AND to produce an experience that allows for some empathy, not just sympathy, toward ALS patients.

ALS Association: Does use stem cells harvested from aborted fetuses and miscarriages, as well as those harvested from cord blood.

Abortion: Has happened for ages, despite legal and moral ramifications and shall continue to happen, despite legal or moral ramifications. Whether in a clinical setting or in a poorly lit alley, they are going to happen.

Opinion:
ALS is horrible. Your brain remains intact while your body shuts down, sometimes slowly, sometimes quickly, but you know and feel everything that is happening to you, possibly right up to the point that you know your lungs and heart will be paralyzed. I had a young patient die of ALS and knowing how much it hurt to watch a stranger dying of this disease, I promise you, I’d do pretty much anything in this world if my child or parent was suffering. From a religious point- I’d break every Commandment Moses brought down from the mountain, after all- my child IS a gift from GOD. HE entrusted me to take care of this child.

ALS Association, Abortion, Stem Cells & God: To the best of my knowledge, the ALS Association is not out there campaigning for women to have abortions. I have yet to be stopped on the street, with an offer to be impregnated and then to have an abortion so they could harvest some stem cells. As I said, abortion has happened and will continue to happen…why not let God, through scientific research, work some miracles from the remains? This is not condoning the original action, but making something good from it.

Is that not what the core of Christianity is? Taking that which is “evil” and turning it into that which is “good”?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 08:06:48

    There is a lot to think about! They’ve raised over $54 million, so far. I hope it all goes to research, but so often the money goes to the ‘overseers’ of any charity. I’m not opposed to this, but I do wonder. I guess I’m jaded in my old age. It’s like someone, at one point in time, cancer will never be cured because there is too much money to be made!

  2. oldnfo
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 18:24:11

    Well said, and ALS truly IS a horrible way to go. Concur completely (Baptist too).

