I’ve always said

Screw with my children and prepare to die…or at least be maimed.

I found out today that the adage applies to my patients, as well.

One of my sweet  little old ladies called me, sobbing.  Seems she went to her podiatrist and he changed a bunch of her treatments without explaining to her why and apparently, he was rude on top of it.

I had a little phone discussion with him.  I may be a LOWLY LPN, but frankly his PhD doesn’t impress me at all.  An asshole is an asshole, no matter what title they hold.  The implication was be nice to my patient or see a procto-podiatrist to get his foot removed from his own ass.

He called my patient and apologized for his rude behavior.

She called my boss.

I got a text…patient advocacy, you’re doing it right.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ORPO1
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 22:42:27

    You are a sterling example, Sweetie!

  2. oldnfo
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 00:26:22

    You go Lady! 🙂

  3. fuzzysdad01
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 22:28:36

    Give them Hell

