Worth it

I’m not too big on “product endorsements”, but when I find something I like & that works for me, why not tell other folks?

Got a Nu Wave oven for my birthday on a whim.  Didn’t figure the infomercials were accurate, but I thought if it did at least some of what they were claiming, it would be a worthwhile addition to my kitchen gadgetry. 

In three words- I. LOVE. IT.

It is the bomb for cooking everything I’ve cooked in it and it does, for the most part, cook faster than a conventional oven.  When you consider a conventional oven has to preheat, then actual on-time of the Nu Wave is still shorter.  My kitchen isn’t heated up at all & clean up is a breeze.

I’ve cooked pizza, biscuits, cakes, roasts, “fried” chicken, vegetables ( asparagus that’s beyond amazing), fish (from frozen), ham, eggs, french fries, toast, hotdogs, grilled cheese sandwiches, and even BACON in this sucker.  I have yet to find anything I didn’t like.  Unlike a microwave, it doesn’t dry the food out, make it tough or stringy.  You can actually cook from frozen to done in a short time.  Fish is flaky & moist, straight from the freezer to done (dampen the fish, season, cook!).

The Husband thought his rotisserie chicken would be better than my Nu Wave chicken.  My chicken was done 10 minutes earlier (and was done to the bone, unlike his rotisserie chicken) and when I pierced the skin to carve it, the juice literally spewed.

It cooks any size portion easily, clean-up is minimal, the electricity savings are noticeable, the food tastes really good…I find no drawbacks to owning & using this “oven”.

It cost $97 on ebay, brand new- with the extender ring, second rack and 10″ baking pan.  I first got one without the extra stuff- gave that one to my Mama & Daddy for Adoption Day, because with the bigger family, I wanted the larger cooking space.

Today’s breakfast- ham & egg biscuits.  I had not cooked country ham on it before and didn’t want to ruin a whole pack of ham if it didn’t do good.  Well, MY ham, cooked in the Nu Wave was done, but still tender & moist.  The ham cooked on the griddle was dry & stringy.

Took 10 minutes total to cook eggs, 2 pieces of ham and the biscuits- no hot kitchen.  1 pan, 1 rack & 4 egg cups to wash (sprayed with Pam and they wash in about 1 minute).  Breakfast was done.

Try one, I’m willing to bet you’ll be glad you did. 

IMG_0141

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ORPO1
    May 18, 2013 @ 17:06:48

    Interesting.
    Might be something to look into. B/P and cholesterol issues ya know. Less grease and fat?

  2. snigsspot
    May 18, 2013 @ 18:15:29

    Definately less of both!

  3. fuzzysdad01
    May 18, 2013 @ 23:37:38

    I may have to buy one for my wife

  4. Old NFO
    May 19, 2013 @ 21:31:31

    Hoo boy, one more thing to try to track down… 🙂 And quick and easy is NICE!

