Pardon me, that belongs on the roof

Shingles.

Had a good case of them for a week now, down the outside of my leg and across my knee. This has been the year for me to be sick & it’s only midApril. >.< Flu (mild, thankfully), Norovirus, bronchitis and now shingles.

Was asked if my "vesicles were oozing or weeping"?

Hell naw, the painful bastards are gushing and squalling.

Acyclovir, oxycontin & phenergan have been my bestest friends this last week. Amputation is a viable option in treatment from my perspective.

Don't wish this stuff on my worst enemy. My advice to anyone who had chicken pox? Get the damned vaccine after you cross that magical age of 62. I hear it costs an arm & a leg, but trust me…it might be easier to give up cable for a few months than to deal with this.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ORPO1
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 02:20:59

    Reblogged this on The Lexicans and commented:
    A dear friend of both the Old NFO and I is having a bit of a tough go………….So some words of encouragement to Cindy would be most appreciated. Makes my little burn insignificant.
    ORPO sends.

  2. ORPO1
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 02:24:37

    I am feeling for you my sweet. Damn, that has to be agony. My Grandmother had them. It was agony for her in her 80s and 90s.

  3. anglicanepiscopal
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 04:44:41

    I had them when I was 28. My wife caught chickenpox from me. For years I thought that having had them once I would have immunity, but when I read that it would not, that a second attack was possible, I got the vaccine before I transitioned into Medicare from Tricare. I remember having them and the pain, but I understand it’s worse when you’re a senior.

  4. Crucis
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 11:14:54

    Sorry to hear you got them—shingles. I had that almost 25 years ago, at age 40. Mine were on my head, starting behind me left eat, up through my hair and down to my left eyebrow. My left eye swollen shut. Went I went outside, I could feel every individual hair move in the breeze.

    Rest assured…it does go away. IIRC, my episode lasted about 2 1/2-3 weeks.

  5. Buck
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 14:54:50

    Here’s hoping you get better soon, Snigs.

  6. fuzzysdad01
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 18:26:20

    I am sorry to her of your bout with shingles.
    My mom had them 5-6 years ago real rough time.
    i heard medicare will not cover the shots

  7. snigsspot
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 14:37:03

    Thanks y’all. It’s a maddening pain and one I don’t wish to repeat. One of the physical therapists at work asked me how I was even walking. Would “very carefully” been too smart-assed an answer?? 🙂

  8. Lnda
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 15:51:18

    Oh, man.

  9. Old NFO
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 21:24:38

    Truly sorry to hear that, hoping you get over them quickly! And yes, the vaccination IS a preventative step!

