She just had to call me

right after I finished lunch.

Mama called to say the breaker had flipped during a storm sometime this past week.

The breaker for the line the freezer was plugged in to.  The freezer with MY food in it.

And that Daddy said, “It smelled rough”.

Armed with peppermint oil, trash bags, gloves and the old car wash rags (worn out bath towels), me & the kids headed up there to clean it out.

102* in the building.

No water.

The peppermint oil didn’t remotely help.

Suffice it to say, I thought I was going to puke…

and I nearly did.

Fish, chicken & venison…

I don’t think I’ll eat again any time soon.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ORPO1
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 17:38:50

    Reblogged this on Among The Joshua Trees and commented:
    And Cindy was prepping for vacation!
    Serious Bummer!

  2. ORPO1
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 17:42:25

    Bummer!
    What a way to start a vacation! Sucks Bilge Water there Sweets!
    I reblogged to Among The Joshua Trees!!!!!!!!!!
    Luv ya!!!!!!!!

  3. Morgan
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 18:54:55

    So, I guess you don’t want to hear about my enjoying Kentucky Fried Chicken a short while ago? Complete with mashed potatoes with gravy and biscuits? 😉

  4. snigsspot
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 18:59:16

    If you want to hear about decomposed meat & some maggots, sure.

    I drank a beer to get the “taste” out of my mouth…I’m good now. 🙂

  5. Old NFO
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 19:24:58

    Oh damn, that sucks from SO many angles… Cost, dealing with the ‘aftereffects’, probably a new freezer (unless you can bleach the smell out)… Sorry to hear that, and hope it did NOT screw up the vacation!

