Trying new things out

So, I was talking about getting a Ruger American 308 and I got to wondering if I could actually handle shooting said gun.
Not ’cause I’m a sissy girl, but because of the back surgery, I don’t like to overly jar things around.
Husband suggested I try his 30-30. Shot it and got a bullseye on the first shot.
I still wasn’t convinced though, so I went to shoot my dad’s 35 just to see. It’s a pretty Marlin from back in the day that Marlin was a NICE gun.
Anyway, shot it without recoil pad and I’m happy to say I did so just fine.
No bullseye, but I don’t know when he shot it last…best guess is 1987 or 88. The sights may be screw up to the point that I couldn’t hit the broad side of the barn anyway. šŸ˜€
Never the less, I’m satisfied that I can handle the 308. šŸ™‚

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. snigsspot
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 22:13:17

    Sights may be *screwed up.

    Sorry about the typos folks…literally typing blind. For whatever reason, my page for typing up posts won’t load. Can’t get edit to load either. >.<

  2. crucis
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 23:36:22

    Try a .30-06. They’re almost the same, except for case size, as an .308. Same bullet in fact.

  3. Old NFO
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 14:06:32

    .308 is more readily available, and very similar to 30-06. The BEST recoil management for a rifle is the weight of it. Trust me, a 5-6lb rifle in any of those calibers IS going to get your attention!

