Good to be Southern

Gardens are producing!

I, being entirely too lazy to have one this year, am relying on others abilities to garden good.

In other words, I work too damned much to have the energy to tend a garden every night.

So Saturday morning bright & early, I hit the truly local farmers’ market and spent about $15 on collards, cabbage, squash, bell peppers, brown eggs & some wheat bread that is to die for.

If you’re not a gardener, let me tell you- it ain’t a cheap hobby, nor is it an easy hobby.  While it’s somewhat fulfilling to harvest your own vegetables, when you work 12 hours a day, it’s not near as appealing.  Not to mention, the last time we had a garden I kept up with the costs.  Nearly $300.00 for seeds, plants, fertilizers, treatments for blossom-end rot & such, & pesticides.  $300 will buy a LOT of things from the farmers’ market.

Anyway, I’ve cooked some of everything that I bought and Lord have mercy, I’m glad to be a southern girl where I can enjoy what has to truly be God’s favorite foods.

Tonight, had meatloaf made from venison, cabbage, green beans, creamed potatoes, cornbread, sliced tomatoes & pink lemonade cake for dessert.

My 2-hour postprandial blood sugar- 112! (I only a little potatoes & cornbread & a skinny slice of cake)

I’ve learned to make sweet iced tea with fake sugar- Sweet Thing and I’m learning how to keep the desserts to a minimum- slices v/s slabs. 😀

Anyway, I haven’t felt as good as I do tonight in ages.

I think the 4 day weekend was just what I needed.

Oh, and my house is clean, too!

Y’all have a great week!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ORPO1
    May 28, 2012 @ 23:34:02

    For a Norwegian, it would be Lutefisk, Lefsa and Meat Balls!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Old NFO
    May 29, 2012 @ 20:26:37

    AND you don’t have to worry about trying to slip the ‘extras’ in somebody’s car at church…LOL Farmer’s Markets are the way to go!

