And my jaw nearly hit the floor

Was dealing with a patient today who’d bombed her brain on opiates & benzos.

I mean BOMBED it.  She was found dead & they brought her back with some mean CPR.

There is nothing left other than a vegetable shell.

Talking to kin about discharge planning and was asked….I shit you not, this IS what she said…

DO YOU HAVE A EUTHANASIA PROGRAM AT YOUR FACILITY?

I just looked at her.  I blankly stared at her, most likely in a manner that conveyed just how insane I thought she was.

And then I quietly stunned her…”Ma’am, you do realize euthanasia is not a program about children in China, right?”

She looked at me.

And I came slightly unhinged.  NO, WE DO NOT HAVE AN EUTHANASIA PROGRAM!  WE’RE PHYSICAL REHAB!  THAT’S MURDER!

You know, she didn’t even look apologetic.  I started to ask her where these thoughts were when she was having a g-tube, ventilator, and a gazillion other tubes & toys stuck in her loved one… shoved in all available & some newly made holes.

I swear to God, no question will ever shock me again after that one.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    May 16, 2012 @ 20:21:23

    You know, what’s so sad about these people…the vote! Did the patient have a DNR or a living will? When my hubby had to have IV antibiotics, we were both asked to sign a living will and a POA. I think hospitals are doing that, getting ready for ‘obamacare’!

  2. snigsspot
    May 16, 2012 @ 20:27:18

    Linda, she is a young woman and no, she didn’t sign crap. They’ve made her a DNR now, but after the went thru vent, trach, g-tube, etc… She wasn’t thinking about a thing but her next high, I imagine.

  3. kcduffy
    May 16, 2012 @ 22:18:17

    It’s funny, isn’t it – in a sick kind of way – I may not get treatment for colon cancer if I get it under ObieCare, but she’ll get help even if she doesn’t want it, because of her age. Unless she moves to Oregon.

  4. Old NFO
    May 17, 2012 @ 01:31:22

    Sad… and oh so stupid…

  5. Skul
    May 18, 2012 @ 05:14:10

    She’s not looking to be put down.
    She’s looking for someone to say her life is worthwhile.
    Let her know that she is important, even to you.

  6. ORPO1
    May 20, 2012 @ 13:45:01

    The family member is the one who needs to be euthanized in my opinion.
    That is something I would never consider for anyone. It is simply not right.

  7. ORPO1
    May 20, 2012 @ 13:46:49

    Reblogged this on Among The Joshua Trees and commented:
    My friend Cindy has this one at Snig’s Spot. Read it and make up your own mind.

