Geez

What they say is right…after 40, the body wants to head downhill. >.<

I was minding my own business, happily working right along yesterday until about 10:30…

Didn’t feel so hot.  Little twingy chest pains started.  I didn’t eat breakfast, wrote it off as hunger pain & went on working.

Then, they got a little more serious with their twinging.

Hmmm.  Hurried up what I was doing, so I could beat it over to the cardiologist’s office.

Shortness of breath, pain 8/10 radiating this way and that…not good.

Needless to say, I ended up in the ER instead of the office.

EKG was done, it said I was okay, so I was sent back to the waiting room. (More on waiting room cretins later)

I sat & sat & sat.

They called me back for a second EKG & the doc was to see me “next”.

Then it started to rain and apparently, accidents started to take place because ambulances were rolling in left & right.

So, I lay their topless for another couple of hours.

Finally, I put on my clothes, asked for a copy of the EKG and left.  Since I wasn’t having a heart attack & they weren’t in any shape to get to me in this millennium, I figured I might as well go.

Based on the symptoms and what the nurse alluded the doc wanted to talk to me about, I’m guessing I’ve got a tricuspid valve prolapse.  I’ve heard MVPs and mine doesn’t sound like that.

Gonna see a cardiologist Monday & find out for sure.

Ugh.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crucis
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 10:53:08

    I have no idea what that is or means. Please keep us in the loop. We’re praying for you all.

  2. snigsspot
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 11:11:59

    A valve prolaspe is a leaky valve. It’s not slamming shut like it’s supposed to. Heart murmur is what it used to be called.

    As long as it doesn’t get any worse (valve regurgitation), it’s not a big deal, really.

    (MVP is mitral valve. When they’re prolapsed, the heart beat sound they make is really weird, almost like a machinery sound. Mine sounds clear. When I listen to the tricuspid valve though, it sounds a little different.)

  3. fuzzysdad01
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 12:57:54

    I will pray for you

  4. Mike Watson
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 15:07:10

    OK, that helps me understand. I think. It’s sorta reminiscent of an exchange I had with my family doc. Doc, says I, I get these chest pains once in a while…and the next thing I know I’m hooked up to an EKG. It turns out I have arthritis in my collar bones and sternum. When that flares up I get chest pains.

    So much for clear communication. 😉

  5. Bob Perrow
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:29:43

    Hope you’re alright, Snigs. We’d all miss you if you weren’t around to laugh at.

  6. Jim
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:35:45

    Thoughts and prayers sent… Get fixed quick! 🙂

  7. ORPO1
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 12:43:20

    Reference the text message from the other day.
    Still worried about you, m’dear.

  8. snigsspot
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 23:13:31

    Yeah, my BP keeps swinging all over the place…80/40, 100/80, 160/100

    I don’t know WTF is going on with it. >.<

  9. crucis
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 23:24:25

    80/40!!!!! You could pass out just standing up!

  10. snigsspot
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 00:12:27

    Not really. My BP has always been low. 80/50 is about the norm for me. In the hosp Friday, it was 160-something over 54 I think. I can’t remember now, but it’s written down at least.

