Grrrrr

As you know, I’ve got a Ruger Mark II.

Love to shoot it, fun gun

BUT

it’s jamming on me, left and right.

Started out with some Remington bullets…oh, their quality sucks royally.  Bang.Ping.Tink.Bang.Bang.Click.Jam.

Bought Winchesters.

They suck as much as the Remingtons when it comes to jamming.  At least they consistently went bang.

Bought a box of Federal.

Not quite as bad, but still jamming way more than I like.

Suggestions?

CCI?

Send the gun back to Ruger for some sort of fix?

Oh, and the gun was cleaned well prior to today’s shooting.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crucis
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 00:17:05

    Well, I’ve always preferred CCI. Are the jams Fail-to-Feed or Fail-to-Eject? If the latter it could be using faster ammo…or dirty rails or something binding the slide.

    More info, please?

  2. snigsspot
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 00:36:22

    Failing to eject.

    Using 22 long high velocity bullets.

    Rails clean & nothing apparent binding the slide.

    The Husband says he used CCI in the past- his Mark II got stolen a long time ago.

    I don’t know what info to give, but I can answer questions at least. 🙂

  3. Old NFO
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 19:04:58

    CCI’s seem to consistantly work in mine… And I’d make sure the rails are well lubed…

  4. Dan Walker
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 23:38:14

    Stupid as it sounds, recheck what gun lube you are using. Many years ago, I had similar problems with my MkII, sent it to Ruger. Turns out it was a small can of 3-in-1 20wt motor oil, NOT light machine oil. 😦 Gun now shoots everything, zero jams. Good luck.

  5. snigsspot
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 18:49:32

    The Husband did what was suggested on the Ruger Forum- rounded off a “corner” on the clip, polished/deburred anything rough on the bolt, & polished the feed ramp.

    50 rounds went thru it without the first jam.

  6. Old NFO
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 22:49:31

    Oh, I thought you’d already DONE that… my bad…

