Misfit or Nitwit?

Which am I?

Girly girls scoff at me because…I like to put up barbed wire fences, I like to toss hay into trucks, I like to shoot guns, & I don’t mind getting slicked over with dirt when I need to work or have black hands thanks to doing a little mechanic work.

I cuss and I drink and if I’m drinking, I probably cuss worse than a sailor.

Non-girly girls scoff at me because…I like my nails painted (sparkly pink is today’s color), I like getting flowers, I like wearing dresses & heels, I like baking, I have an undying love for pocketbooks & jewelry and BOTH HAVE to match my clothes.

I don’t like sewing, or anything remotely akin to it- knitting, crocheting, quilting…I’d rather be shot than participate in those activities, BUT I CAN sew.

So, I ask, “What’s wrong with a girl who…

Will pull apart a lawn mower motor, fix it & put it back together, ending up covered in grease from head to toe
AND
Enjoys a candle-lit bubble bath afterwards?

Will go to the range & shoot until her hands are black with gunpowder
AND
Comes home, to bake a rose-covered cake? (After washing her hands)

Will wear a lace camisole
AND
A leather bomber jacket?

Listens to country music
AND
The next song will be Walk This Way by Aerosmith or Fat Bottom Girls by Queen
AND
The next will be Beethoven.

Cries when a sick kitten dies
BUT
Tries not to bat an eye when her favorite elderly patient slips peacefully, into the great beyond.

Is scared to death of lightning & only wants to be held tight during a thunderstorm
AND
Wants to be left the hell alone when facing mental anguish.

Wants a Knight in Shining Armour to make her feel protected
AND
Wants that knight to know she CAN damned well protect herself, when needed.

Will wear riding boots, jeans & a cap today
AND
Tomorrow, will be wearing a pink lacy dress?

Will scream like a drill sergeant one minute
THEN
Give the most tender of kisses the next?

Will stand up for women’s rights
BUT
Not give it a second thought, to appeal to a man’s more primal side to get exactly what she wants?

And be equally happy, in all the above situations?

Does that mean I’m a chameleon?  Am I a sell-out?  A hypocrite?

Maybe, maybe not.

Whatever it is, it’s me.  A friend once said I reminded him of a Billy Joel song.  Not Only the Good Die Young.  Maybe you’ll recognize it…

She can kill with a smile she can wound with her eyes
She can ruin your faith with her casual lies
And she only reveals what she wants you to see
She hides like a child but she’s always a woman to me
She can lead you to love she can take you or leave you
She can ask for the truth but she’ll never believe
And she’ll take what you give her as long it’s free
Yeah she steals like a thief but she’s always a woman to me

Oh she takes care of herself
She can wait if she wants she’s ahead of her time
Oh and she never gives out
And she never gives in she just changes her mind

And she’ll promise you more than the garden of Eden
Then she’ll carelessly cut you and laugh while you’re bleeding
But she’ll bring out the best and the worst you can be
Blame it all on yourself ’cause she’s always a woman to me

Oh she takes care of herself
She can wait if she wants she’s ahead of her time
Oh and she never gives out
And she never gives in she just changes her mind

She’s frequently kind and she’s suddenly cruel
She can do as she pleases she’s nobody’s fool
And she can’t be convicted she’s earned her degree
And the most she will do is throw shadows at you
But she’s always a woman to me

Take me or leave me, I am but the Snigs.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rck
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 00:38:47

    You are normal.It is the others that have the problem.

  2. snigsspot
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 11:43:05

    Heh, funny thing. Got several comments on this post- via email & texts. Sorta surprised Rick was the only one to post a comment here…

  3. ORPO1
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 15:31:40

    I think you are just right. Do not change for anything. And ya had me at the Lace Camisole and Leather Jacket!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Boots………………………………M’Kay?!?!?!?!?!?!

  4. Old NFO
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 17:20:14

    Um… Interesting??? 😀

  5. Jay
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 20:14:57

    You are the kind of Gir,,,,,,,,I mean Women I would love to meet if I was single

    Ps. Hi snigs …been awhile!

  6. snigsspot
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 23:40:42

    JAY!!! I’ve missed you!

    ORPO- You got some sorta hooker boot fetish going on there? LOL Kidding!!

    NFO- 😛

  7. kcduffy
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 13:37:41

    Snigs…with you in spirit, my online Friend. What you ARE is a talented, interesting, multi-faceted, CAPABLE woman. Ain’t nuthin’ wrong with that. I would be the same, given a different set of circumstances.

    “Regular” folks, bureaucrats, and governments are scared shitless of our kind…and the men who appreciate us.

