Sanity Refound

Range time!

Oh and I need suggestions on a good shotgun for me to shoot trap & skeet with.  My 12 gauge, although I love it, is unfortunately too heavy for me.  Thanks to the wreck in 2000 and subsequent nerve damage, I wasn’t supposed to regain but 30% use of my left arm.  I got more like 60%, but it’s way too long & heavy for me to repeatedly shoot with.  Any suggestions?  (And yeah, I prefer to keep gas operated semi-auto for recoil reduction.  I am after-all a fair skinned girly-girl.  Got enough blood blister tonight from one shot I didn’t have it tight enough to the shoulder for.  Would hate to think of the recoil if it wasn’t semi-auto.)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crucis
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 21:51:27

    Wad-cutters? Or, SWCs? Neat clean holes.

  2. snigsspot
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 22:03:32

    Most were SWC, except for my “really fun” loads & they’re jacketed. 🙂

    Oh & pay no attention to the shots outside the circle…they were “warning shots”. LOL

    It had been too long since I’d shot (embarrassed face here) and The Husband loaded me a new weight. 38s are way too light for me, so he loaded me some target weight 357s. Then he loaded me a few boxes of 357s with a real nice bite to them too. Shot a ton of holes in a second target with the 22. It’s what I like to shoot for pure fun! 🙂

  3. crucis
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 22:06:39

    Ah, you’re a recoil junkie like my wife. She loves to shoot my K-frames.

  4. snigsspot
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 22:21:01

    Recoil junkie? Moi? Nah…

  5. ORPO1
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 22:51:13

    Looks like a good time was had by all.
    Jealous. I got to get the Sharps out to the open desert and pop some 1 gallon water jugs.
    That last pic does give my heart rate a bit of a boost! 😀

  6. harp1034
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 03:48:38

    Get a 20 GA semi-auto.

  7. Old NFO
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 07:24:49

    She LURVES Recoil… :-0 I’ve seen her shoot! Re the shotty, I’d go with a 20ga, easier to handle and less recoil too!

  8. portia
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 17:57:59

    I love my S&W .357! Can’t shoot that much anymore since the arthritis in my neck got pretty bad. It stinks! Makes my shoulder hurt like hell and the fingers on my right hand go numb. I have to say that my son’s Taurus Judge is a fun thing to shoot, though. It looks so impressive but being so long, the recoil is not that bad.

