Trauma Trippin’

I know a good portion of the folks who read my blog are a bit older than me.  Therefore, most folks reading this will have already been there, done that & got the gray hair to prove it.

The Boy got his driver’s license earlier this month.  Yep, he was nearly a year late, but when I say the grades have to be GOOD, by God I mean they have to be GOOD. 

Anyway, despite the fact that he’s driven all over with The Husband, my parents or me in the vehicle, he had yet to make that maiden voyage without an adult in the car with him.

Well, last night there was an awards program at the community theater & he and The Girl were asked to go since they are involved in Drama Club at school.  Seems the theater throws the most money at the program & their attendance would be seen as a show of appreciation.

I didn’t feel like going.  Heck, I didn’t even feel like getting dressed.  It’s got to where I want to do less & less over the weekends…standard uniform- one of the husband’s white undershirts and a pair of underwear.  Really, who needs more on the weekend? 😀

But I digress…

I let The Boy drive he & The Girl to the ceremony.

And I was more nervous than a long-tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs.

I touched my arm to the hotter-than-hell pressure cooker.  I dropped the whisk, complete with hot gravy covering, on my foot.  I cut a gash in my leg shaving you could park a VW Bug in.  I burned an ENTIRE stick of butter. Yes, a stick of butter…not caramelized…not browned…but flat out blackened.  I think it was crunchy!

They made it fine, the car is a-okay, and they were both walking mighty tall when they returned home.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go doctor on my burns and cuts and such…

The way those kids looked coming home was worth every single one of them.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob Perrow
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 20:21:53

    One of the great stories in our family involve my oldest son when he was 15. We let him drive our van to church one Sunday, and we stopped for gas and a carwash on the way home.

    He rolled the window down to punch in the carwash code and from my perspective in the back, I could tell he never rolled it back up.

    Sure enough, when his turn to drive in came, he dutifully drove in, put the van in park, and sat watching as the spray arm eased over to the driver’s window.

    I thought to myself, “Should I tell him, or should I just let it happen?”

    Then the spray arm activated with him looking full-faced into it. The whole car exploded with screams of other kids yelling, “ANDREW, YOU DORK!!!!!!!!!!”

    All you have to do now to put him into a “state” is to drive near a carwash.

  2. Old NFO
    Jan 30, 2012 @ 09:27:23

    LOL, the ‘first’ drive is always the worst… And the rest of them don’t get much better either… better stock up on the band-aids! 😛 And congrats to him for not running off the road cause he was so nervous!!!

  3. ORPO1
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 01:35:02

    Mine was taking the car to town, bus trip to an away basketball game and coming home in a raging blizzard………..
    I have that visual of the T-Shirt and Underwear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Oh Yes!

  4. ORPO1
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 01:39:03

    Sharon took a fall yesterday. Got an ambulance ride to the Federal Hospital at Nellis AFB. Broken wrist, three places. Did the initial with orthopedics today. Pre Op stuff tomorrow including the Gas Passer, labs and such. Surgery will be on Thursday……………………The hospital is a combined one, Air Force and VA. We are covered………

