I tried

Today, I saw a very sad sight. 

I was running from one hospital to another, back & forth.  While I was stopped for a red light at one of the major intersections, I saw a man holding a sign.

It said something to the effect of Out of Work Veteran Willing to Accept any Job 0r Help.

Looked in my pocketbook and didn’t have but 30 cents.  Damned debit card- I NEVER have cash anymore.

So, I stopped at the bank & cashed a check.

Went back to the intersection and dammit, he was gone.

😦

I hope he has food in his tummy tonight and a warm place to sleep.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. crucis
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 19:16:14

    You do have to be a bit careful. I met one outside Target with a similar sign who insisted he was an Army SEAL.

  2. Old NFO
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 22:07:03

    Thanks for trying Snigs…

  3. ORPO1
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 19:09:41

    We had one in Wichita some years ago. Found out he was living with his child who had a decent job and made sure dad was taken to the VA on a regular basis. Mental Health issues.
    There are those who are in need though and thanks for making the attempt. Even those of us who have it good, still have our moments at times.
    Love Ya Always, My Sweet Georgia Peach!

  4. snigsspot
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 22:48:10

    I try to do things for folks when I can. I take them at face value & if I get screwed, well, so be it. There was a woman in the hospital cafeteria a couple of weeks back- she looked like an absolute wreck. Mentally, that is. Anyway, she couldn’t find her debit card & had no cash on her…I told the cafeteria worker just to let her have it & I paid for it. Don’t know if it was her husband, child or parent there in the hospital, but having been there myself, I felt like she needed a hand.

    I figure for each time someone bilks me out of something, there are at least two times that I actually help someone else. It all works out in the end.

    Karma can kiss you warmly or bite you coldly- the shysters will get theirs in the end.

  5. kcduffy
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 23:35:01

    I’m like you in that I try to do things for people when I can – but I don’t give money to people on the street. I once paid for a young Navy wife’s groceries, because her card wouldn’t work. Duffy filled up another young woman’s car and bought her kids Happy Meals because they didn’t have enough to get to meet Daddy at his ship. We gave her a twenty, too. NOW, of course, we can’t do that…money is more dear now than it’s been in a very long time…but we still help when we can.

    Unlike you, I don’t believe in karma – shysters get away with things forever, all the time (see “politics”), but my job is to be helpful and treat others the way I’d want to be treated in the same circumstances, and if I can ease someone’s burden for a few moments, my whole life is better.

    Thank YOU for helping, too – there’s a lot of us, y’know. 🙂

  6. snigsspot
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 23:44:34

    Nah, the shysters don’t see much out of their doings. They may have things, but they seldom have anyone to care about or who cares about them.

    That bites one day…whether they can act well & cover up the hurt is a hole different matter. 😉

