1st Car Meme

Old NFO tagged me for this…

Not sure why, except that I figure he knows I’d probably do it.

Snigs’ First Car was a 1972, Buick Electra Limited in pretty much brand spankin new condition, despite being 14 years old.

This wasn’t mine, but all the pictures of mine are at Mama’s & Daddy’s…this is the same as mine though, color & all.

Yessir, it was a true Ghetto Glide from the word go.  It was top of the line at the time- power everything, AC, cruise, spit shined leather interior…

Oh, and speaking of GO, it would!  It sported a 455 engine.  Top speed- 199 mph.  Said to do 0-60 in 8.1 seconds.  I believe it.

However, as fast as the speedometer would rise, the gas gauge would sink.

What adventures were had in it?  Well, let’s see.  It seated 8 teens fairly comfortably, 10 if anybody was willing to sit in someone’s lap.  Any time a gaggle of us wanted to go somewhere, it was my car they all piled into.  I abused it terribly, jumping railroad tracks, learning how to do reverse bootlegs & state patrol turn-arounds.  Every time it cranked up, there was an adventure to be had.

The motor size earned the respect of my male classmates.  They loved to pop the hood and stare at the engine.  It would keep up and finally exceed the speed of quite a few of their cars and it flat beat the pants off their pick-ups.  It didn’t always drive that way though, as it had once belonged to our neighbors back where I grew up.  They didn’t drive it all too fast I guess.  It had no get up & go until one day I took a quick trip to town.  There’s a nice 1.5 mile straight away between here & town.  I hit the beginning of that straight and I put the pedal to the floor.  It nudged forward.  I kept the pedal to the floor.

All the sudden- CABOOOOOOOOOOM!!!  Black smoke blew out the rear like something had exploded.  I’m pretty sure the car folded up like they do in the cartoons and then it LEAPED forward like it had been shot from a cannon. 

Scared the ever livin’ shit out of me.

I KNEW I had blown the motor…until I looked down at the speedometer.  92 miles an hour.

That’s when I REALLY nearly shit my pants.  I slowed it back down & cruised on to town at about 60 mph. 

And filled up the gas tank.

I never knew it if I got it up to that famed 199 mph, but I did hide the needle on fair occasion.  I *think* it topped out at 120 on the speedometer.

Other good experiences were to be had…cruising endlessly up & down the “strip” through town.  Around the Square, out to Hardees, around the BiLo parking lot & back to the Square.  It came in right handy for um, parking.  Well, at least I’m sure it would have.  I’d never do anything like that…er, um, yeah.  Uh, next question…

Worst experience?  When the transmission went out.  Cost me a whopping $400 to have it rebuilt AND I had to ride the school bus again for a week!  Le gasp.

So…what happened to it?

Daddy sold it.  He knew I’d end up killing myself with that 455 and he was probably right.  I was lower than a dachshund’s belly when he made me give that car up for a paltry $500. 

But I’m still here today, so I reckon he did the right thing.

I still miss that ol’ car though…except when I stop to buy gas.

😉

Tagging must wait until tomorrow!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 11:45:15

    LOL- That is hilarious Snigs, and for ‘some’ reason I’m not surprised… And the ‘boom’ was all the carbon finally letting go… That beast probably got about 7-8mpg on a good day, downhill, with a tailwind 🙂

  2. snigsspot
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 12:20:09

    Oh, I knew what happened…later.

    Especially when Mama asked him what he’d done to it, as it had a TON of get up & go. He looked at me and I just shrugged. He knew what I’d done…

  3. Crucis
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 14:14:39

    Heh. I was driving my wife’s Chevy II on the Interstate when all of a sudden it went “Bang!” and when I looked in the rear mirror, I could see parts skittering along the highway. Seems like the OHC gear that was driven by the uni-belt broke off and took some other parts with it. ‘Course with the OHC not turning, the engine came to a sudden halt and that did all sorts of other good things to the engine. IIRC, we just hauled it off directly to a dealer and got barely better than scrap pric

  4. ASM826
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 23:55:54

    Wow, my first meme, and it’s all over the place! Great story. I remember the 455. My first serious girlfriend’s daddy had a Riviera with a 455. She used to get it for our dates sometimes. That car weighed about 4000 lbs. and that motor would still pull it along. It was majestic.

