Of food & fly-ins

For the past 20+ years, my uncle &/or his brothers have hosted a fly-in and BBQ on their Mom’s birthday.  Their mom died quite a few years back, but the fly-in & BBQ continued.  My Uncle died 6 years ago and man, I miss him.  He was actually married to my Mom’s half sister.  When they got divorced, we threw her out & kept him.

Anyway, participation was down a bit this year.  I think there were several things going on in Augusta 9/11 related.  Not many planes & not near as many folks, but PLENTY of food and still a nice time.

Short line?

Just a few cars?

And finally, what was left of my cake- Apple-Cheesecake Bundt Cake (and it WAS damned good!!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Sep 11, 2011 @ 20:41:17

    Nice pics, and looks like a good time, and some pretty old airplanes too! That old Stinson and the Cub look like they have been restored by people that truly care! And that old Colt is one of the few I’ve ever “seen” outside a brochure… Glad you had fun!

  2. ORPO1
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 21:18:38

    Dad had a 1948 Stinson 108-3 in the early seventies. Loved that old tail dragger!
    Looks like a fun event.
    Great pictures ya got there, Sweets!

