Ahhhh!!!

For the first time in um, 4 years, we took a little trip this weekend.  Went to Asheville to see the Biltmore House (had some free tickets!!!).

The biggest shock?  My parents even went!

We had a nice time, stayed at a really nice Holiday Inn (that was really cheap considering) and enjoyed some pretty scenery.  It wasn’t a long trip, but it was quite enjoyable and we’re actually glad to be back home.  Biltmore is worth seeing…once.  But wear very comfortable shoes & if you’re not used to hiking up and down tons of steps all day, pack some BenGay for the morning after!

Gargoyles or dragons??

Mama & Daddy

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charles Pergiel
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 13:24:58

    Always kind of wondered about Biltmore. Nice detail in the picture of the dragons, er, gargoyles. Good to see your top cop is getting around.

  2. Ami
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 17:38:34

    You look a lot like your mom. I look more like my dad. In fact, there are mornings I get up, look in the mirror and scare myself.

    Your children are beautiful, too, although I know boys don’t want to be called beautiful. So don’t tell him I said so. 🙂

    Nice to get out and about, isn’t it?

  3. snigsspot
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 17:50:38

    Funny thing, Ami- I’m adopted. Most folks that see me & them in person say I look like him. We have a lot of the same physical characteristics. (Same eyes, same basic body structure, same scoliosis- seriously, the same curvature, etc…) I don’t know, but I sorta feel like the perfect cross between the two. I’m hotheaded like her, but kind to a fault (that’s hard to believe, I know) like him. 😀

    And yeah, it was very nice to get away for a bit. Next summer, I’m planning a two week adventure I hope. I’d like to go up thru Kentucky, Virginia, West Virginia and maybe into Pennsylvania. We’ll see. 🙂

  4. Old NFO
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 20:47:52

    Glad y’all got a chance to see it, as soon as the current Vanderbilt dies, they will have to sell it to try to pay the estate taxes! And if the boy actually ‘tried’ to drive a wagon holding the reins like that it would get real interesting 🙂

