I Can Breathe Again

without completely worrying.

Husband continues to get better & said yesterday he felt better than he had in ages.

His groin looks like someone went after him with a Louisville Slugger and he has “bruises” from all the blood draws & IVs, but otherwise, he’s looking good.  I’d been telling him for months to go to the doc & get checked out.  His nails have been blue to white, instead of pink.  They’re now pink again.

I’ve revamped the cooking style once again.  Red meat has taken a hard hit, with vegetables & fruit being ramped up.  Portion sizes have been significantly decreased & exercise has been increased to 30 minutes every other day until next weekend, then it will increase to 30 minutes daily, then 45, then 60, etc…  I’ve lost 17** pounds in the last 2 weeks.

My car goes in the shop Wednesday to fix the deer/paint trading/shifter damage.

I’ve been offered a new job with much less stress & lots more pay.  It involves a commute, but that’s better than what I’ve been dealing with.

I still feel like a limp dish rag, but even that is improving on a daily basis.

I tell ya though, I sincerely thought I would have a nervous breakdown before this was all resolved.  I hadn’t had panic attacks (I guess that’s what it was- heart felt like it was trying to flutter out of my chest via my throat) since I was married to the a-hole wife beater.  Whatever it was, if not panic attacks, was back with about every 5th breath.  It took my dad telling me last week that he knew me, what I was capable of handling and that I could take a little more to get me somewhat more focused.

And I think blowing up at the lack of communication between the nursing staff/the doc/us Tuesday even helped a bit.  At least it gave me something to focus on.  Hearing the doctor say Wednesday, “You’re not going to have any heart problems any time soon” to the husband probably helped too.

I finally laughed yesterday for the first time since June 29th.

And I sinned big tonight.  I made a churn of homemade chocolate ice cream.  We all ate small amounts and I think whoever claimed ice cream can make anything better was totally right.

Y’all have a great Sunday!

 

That was supposed to be 7, not 17.  Oops.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jay
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 01:15:06

    So glad to hear your Husband is doing so well!!
    Hope you can all relax for awhile and enjoy the Summer.
    Getting sick sucks, but your Husband is a lucky man to be sleeping with his nurse 😉

  2. minimedic
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 02:17:58

    I feel your pain on the panic attacks. I had one whose symptoms included arm numbness and somewhat-crushing chest pain; I damn near hooked myself up to the 12-lead machine to make sure I wasn’t having a heart attack myself.

    17 pounds in two weeks? It took my husband nearly 2 months to lose that much weight! (Not that he was fat to begin with.) What’s your secret?

  3. portia
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 08:00:33

    wow, you’ve been through so much no wonder you had panic attacks! Hang in there since it sounds like the worst is over.

    17 pounds in two weeks? That’s a little much! Stress is a fast weight loss partner!

  4. Crucis
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 11:23:50

    Great news, Snigs. What you probably had was a stress reaction, not a panic attack. You continued to work through it. A panic attack would be much more debilitating.

  5. Old NFO
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 15:36:12

    Glad to hear things are on the upswing… I’m betting the reason you lost so much weight is you were ‘forgetting’ to eat… And yes STRESS does provoke strange reactions in people. Go enjoy some more ice cream 🙂

  6. kcduffy
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 08:34:39

    I don’t know you very well, but what I thought were panic/anxiety attacks a few years back were stress reactions (moving from SoCal to Hawai’i w/teenage daughter who hated the whole thing) AND the symptom of menopause known as hot flashes. Stress reactions don’t occur every 42 minutes for weeks on end.

    Had a nice weekend here, hope yours was just as nice!

  7. Lnda
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 10:29:00

    I’m so glad things seem to be looking up for you! Good news is great!

  8. fuzzysdad01
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 16:18:12

    I am glad to hear things are looking better.
    Your both still in our prayers.

  9. ORPO1
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 00:12:39

    Glad to see things are on the upswing, there, Sweets!