For the love of…

As Joe Friday always said, “Just the facts, ma’am”.

6/30/11 0700 Ready to leave for work, husband looks at me & says, “I don’t feel good”.  Asked him to explain- CHEST PAINS.  Told him I’d get him to the ER and he first said no.  Called work, told them I’d be there if & when I got there, husband having chest pains.  Returned to husband, sweating and chest pains worse.  Called 911.  Returned to husband, now grey, cold & really sweating.  Did the total nursing run down: Started when? Pain is where?  Describe the pain?   Stuffed aspirin in him and he decides to get up.  He made it to the kitchen before falling out.  Caught him & lowered him to the floor.

Fire rescue beat the ambulance by 2 minutes.  BP:  82/41, falling.  Blood sugar:  60, Heart rate: 41, Color:  greyer, Confused & answering all questions with, “Who?”.  Poor historian, so I stepped in and answered all their questions and related what I had done.

Paramedics arrive, get him on the stretcher & in the bus.  They worked with him awhile there (Kudos to them for listening to me the first time when I told them they’d never get an IV in where they were 1st going to attempt to).  Off to the local hospital, 3 nitro and 2 more aspirin without positive results.

At hospital, EKG showed left side infarction.  TPA administered along with 8 units of morphine.  Not helping.

Load him back in the bus to get him to major hospital specializing in cardiac care.  BP shoots up, BP falls, wash, rinse, repeat.  Arrhythmia starts.  They deliver electricity and finally head toward the major hospital.

I follow, 30 miles at 90 MPH without incident.  Got separated on the interstate and bottled up in 65 mph traffic. In left lane, attempting to pass cars in right lane and a nice young man liked the idea so much, that he tried it as well.  Only problem?  I was where he tried to “merge”…WHAM!  Thankfully, the young man didn’t follow insurance instructions and admitted to me and the deputy that it was his fault.

Yep, I had an accident trying to get to the hospital.  Waited 9 minutes on sheriff’s department to get to us and the young deputy was so sweet.  I never saw anybody write so fast, when I told him where I was trying to get and why.  I may have mentioned that my husband was LEO, too.  He got what he needed from me and sent me on my way.

Got to the hospital, husband was already on the cath table & they were trying to place stints.

6 of them in one artery that was 100% blocked.

He goes back in 2 weeks to have 3 more stints placed.

I brought him home today, on the condition that I would take extra good care of him and a doubly watchful eye on him.  He has more holes in him than a pin cushion and a very sore groin, but otherwise seems pretty good.  He says he feels good anyway.

I feel shot at & hit AND shit at & hit.  I’m waiting for a bit of private time & I plan to quietly fall apart & squall like a baby.  If anybody thinks that makes me less of a woman, they’re more than welcome to kiss my butt.

😉

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 19:23:51

    Oh, no, Snigs! I am so glad you were still home. Knowing men, he’d probably lay there and who know what. I am so sorry. How old is he? Tell him to listen to you and to obey the Dr.! Keep us posted, because we care, and we don’t care if you start to bawl like a baby!

  2. Lana Hessenius
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 19:55:48

    I’m so glad you were there with him. Crying is good for the soul…have at it! Take care and I’ll remember you and the hubby in my prayers.

  3. Crucis
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 20:23:01

    Glad to hear he’s going to be OK. I had one of those “hard to breath with chest pains” a few months ago. Turned out to be a form of asthma!

    The best of that situation was that you were there and knew what to do with the materials on hand even if it was just stuffing aspirins into him.

  4. portia
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 20:25:45

    Good thing you are a nurse! Take care and don’t forget to take good care of yourself, too!! Cry, baby, cry! it’s good for you. Hope all is well.

  5. Skul
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 21:09:45

    That was one heck of a busy day.
    Good to know he’s doing better.

  6. ORPO1
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 21:19:53

    I got a shoulder waiting for you, my dear. Go ahead and cry a bucket full. It is quite alright.
    Keeping James in the prayers for you.

  7. kcduffy
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 21:44:54

    Got you and yours in prayer, Snigs. May God grant you strength to do what you must when you must…and please, accept ANY help that is offerred AND don’t be ashamed to ask for it.

    Less of a woman for crying? Honey, that’s how we were Created. Our tears are the Holy Spirit working in us and through us, according to My Best Friend the Catholic.

  8. Old NFO
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 22:02:50

    You done good kiddo! I’m proud of you for holding it together and getting all the ‘right’ things done! I’d call that a win, and if you DON’T cry, there is something wrong with ya… just sayin.., Thoughts and prayers will continue

  9. Ami
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 17:30:32

    Sending good thoughts your way. Glad you knew what to do and how.

  10. jay
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 04:23:38

    Sorry to hear about your husband.
    Prayers will be said for him.
    I hope he gets well soon , and i’m sure you were scared ,thank God you are a trained Nurse, and knew what to do.
    You deserve some time to break down and get your fears out.
    And then I bet you will help him get better.
    Bless Hubby, You, and the kids

  11. Rick
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 22:14:44

    I will be praying for you both.
    I know how you feel.
    Dana had a heart attack and needed by pass surgery.
    We were married just over a year at the time.

  12. Wyatt Earp
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 21:34:05

    Prayers going up, post haste, Snigs. Tell the hubby we’re thinking of him.

