How was your day?

On my way to work this morning, I heard tick, tick, tick.

Upon investigation, I found a serpentine belt coming apart, which promptly broke.  (Kudos to the boy for giving me the Dx without having even peeked under the hood!)

No Chrysler 3.8 L belt in town.  They had to order it.  It came in at 4:00 p.m.

Took a bit of work, it was put on…but unbeknownst to me (and the other putter-oner) it had slipped off the bottom pulley and it promptly cut a slit in it when we cranked it up.

Patched that up, new belt ordered & will be in by 7:30 a.m.

Coming home, minding my own business.

SMACK!

Hit either a baby deer or a coyote.  It was a brown blur.

Popped all the bumper shit loose and of all things, broke my windshield wiper fluid container.

Thankfully, James popped the bumper back together and added a few screws & it will be okay for a bit.  It will have to be repainted though and I’ve gotta replace the reflector on that side. 

Le sigh.

At least it hit low enough to not do any further damage and it didn’t cause the airbags to deploy.

This just hasn’t been my week and it’s only Tuesday!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ORPO1
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 22:32:17

    Dang it all, Babe! Been a bummer of a day,!
    Glad you are alright!!!!!!!!

  2. Rho
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 22:41:39

    I can’t believe your luck! There were major t-storms to the north of us last night. Naturally we heard the weather alert all night long. Galen had to come home from work the long way as there was a car on fire on I-35 W. If I had left the church 10 minutes later, I would have just gotten on the freeway when the accident happened at the next exit.

  3. Bob Perrow
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 08:34:38

    Shucks, Snigs, some people have all the luck.

  4. Lnda
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 11:46:00

    Oh my, I’l so glad you weren’t hurt! Cars can be fixed!

  5. Lnda
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 11:46:29

    ‘I’m’

  6. Old NFO
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 20:31:15

    Thankfully, mine was better than that! Glad you’re okay and only minor damage to the car!

  7. fuzzysdad01
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 15:58:44

    I have had a crappy last two weeks.
    I under stand what your saying.
    Enough of the disasters

  8. snigsspot
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 14:10:40

    Hope the coming week is treating you much better, Rick!!! (hugs)

    Thanks, NFO, ORPO & Linda!

    Bob- remember HeeHaw & the “gloom, despair & agony on me” skit? Welcome to my week of it! lol

    Rhonda- I’m glad you were running 10 minutes early!

