Crap on a cracker

That would be how I feel.

My paperwork said graduation was yesterday at 3:00.  Come to find out, that was for the folks graduating with their GEDs and MY graduation ceremony wasn’t until 7:00.

Got there, all went fine.  Felt much like a sardine, squeezed in between other, larger sardines…a couple of them sorta smelled like sardines too.

But….I got all graduated and such.

Immediately after graduation was less than nice.

Storm hit complete with hail, 60+ mph winds, horizontal rain, and lightning that literally curled in the sky.

The adventure- getting home while dodging downed power lines, downed traffic lights, downed trees and more importantly, dodging PEOPLE who hadn’t managed to dodge the aforementioned things.

It took me nearly 3 hours to make a 60 mile drive.  50,000+ without electricity.  Some only getting power back this afternoon!

Got back to Casa de la Snigs and all was well.  A few limbs down, nothing lightning struck as best I can tell.  Two brush fires within a couple of miles thanks to the high winds and a lot of trees down, but no big problems right here.

My dad, who has driven several million miles over the years in weather conditions that would have made me shit my pants (that he deemed “Reason for concern”) and mom got caught in it too.  They left a little ahead of us and managed to catch worse wind & large hail.  Like I said, driving down mountain sides on slick sheets of ice with a heavily loaded trailer, driving through coal mining country when the coal drivers were striking, driving through all sorts of freaky weather were only “reason for concern”.  He admitted to me today that he was actually “scared” last night, because the Expedition left the pavement a couple of times & he was pretty sure they were going to get rolled over by the winds.  Age or the fact Mama was there with him may have contributed for the change from “reason for concern” to flat out “scared”.  Not sure which it was, but when MY Daddy says there’s reason to be scared, I figure there IS reason to be scared.

We all made it home, safe & relatively sound by midnight.

And everybody went to work today…even though all concerned felt like warmed over death.

I’m just thankful tomorrow is FRIDAY.

And I don’t think I’ll EVER bother marching again….no matter what degree I attain!

(After my high school grad march it stormed like a heifer on steroids.  I’m beginning to think marching isn’t the right thing for me to do!!)

Happy TGIF, ALL!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ami
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 00:35:49

    Maybe celebrate next time by, hm. Staying home and eating chocolate?

    Congratulations to you, though. I love seeing people reach a goal and do so well. 🙂

  2. ORPO1
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 04:04:42

    Well Done!
    Happy for you, My Georgia Peach! 🙂

    As for mother nature, I know how that stuff feels. Glad to leave it in Kansas!

  3. Lnda
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:34:22

    Oh my goodness! First of all, Congratulations! Taking the walk if great, but once is usually enough.

    I’m so sorry your area got hit with these bad storms, but I’m glad you made it home. I’m glad your folks got home too.

    The weather has been so unpredictable this year. I think God is calling for our attention.

  4. fuzzysdad01
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 16:35:01

    I am glad to hear your safe.
    Congratulations.

  5. Old NFO
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 21:48:09

    Yep, I’d cross marching off the list of things to do 🙂 Glad y’all made it back safe!

  6. D.
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 23:21:37

    Congratulations, and I am glad all of you made it home safely. 🙂

  7. Mrs. Crankipants
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 09:17:35

    Congratulations!!!

  8. minimedic
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 00:58:35

    I walked for my high school diploma and associate degree. By the time I completed my bachelor’s, I was sick and tired of sitting in a room with 32432 other people waiting to walk across a stage and have someone say my name and what degree I had earned…

