What do folks eat these days?

The girl’s boyfriend (the guy with the extra long hair) is coming over tomorrow to visit.  Since he’ll be here at supper time and since I’m such a nice person, I sent him a message asking what he liked to eat.

Answer:  Macaroni.

AND???

Answer:  Corndogs.

So, I send back a message- Son, I mean REAL food…pork chops?  Hamburger steak with gravy?  Green beans?  Butter beans?  Corn on the cob?

Answer:  Ohhh…I thought you meant lunch.  I like hamburgers.

Okay, hamburgers are nice.  I enjoy a good hamburger for supper all along- in fact, I enjoyed one Wednesday night.  But *that* is what the dude thinks of when I say pork chops, hamburger steak, etc…?

Do mothers no longer cook for their children?  I think they must not, because 90% of them don’t have a clue what a squash tastes like even know what a rutabaga is.  They seem to know peas & carrots (GAG!) and cut corn, but I’m not sure any of them know it grows on a cob.  They can’t begin to tell you the difference in a butter bean, lima bean & butter pea.  If it’s orange, it has to be YUCK!  Same with green.

My daughter loves all vegetables except turnip greens.  My son likes everything except steamed cabbage.  They eat rutabagas, broccoli, all sorts of beans & peas, squash, zucchini, all colors of potatoes, corn, carrots (raw or cooked).  And neither of them would suggest boxed macaroni & cheese and corndogs as SUPPER FOODS!

Le sigh.  What is the world coming to and moreover, why are so many parents skipping real food at meals?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. portia
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 23:35:27

    OH man that is a pet peeve of mine as well! I cook everything from scratch. My kids have no idea how spoiled they have been! Mashed potatoes are potatoes cooked and mashed for goodness sakes!

  2. snigsspot
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 00:06:18

    One of my cousin’s kids said to me once, “I didn’t know you could make mashed potatoes like that.”.

    I nearly fell out.

    I don’t mind shortcuts sometimes, but every kid should know what truly home-made tastes like, even if it only happens once a week. Personally, I feel guilty if I fix something like spaghetti & meat sauce…if I don’t make the sauce myself. It makes me feel like I’ve popped a t.v. dinner in the microwave. >.<

  3. ORPO1
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 22:35:02

    We may not make everything completely from scratch but even when the kids were little, most meals were home made. Even now it is that easy for us as it is just the Missus and myself. And it is done with enough to make lunch for work the following day.
    And my daughters and one daughter in law cook for their families and not from a box, can or freezer pack. The other daughter in law needs some help yet.

  4. Diller
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 11:49:40

    Never will forget when my youngest asked her new boyfriend over for dinner,and as I was firing up the grill,stepped out and casually mentioned he was a vegetarian,interesting evening to say the least.

  5. snigsspot
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 12:12:05

    Ugh. Shoulda grilled him a potato or something. lol

    Last night, the girl’s boyfriend came over. Here’s the supper I fixed:

    Fried pork chops with gravy, squash, blackeyed peas, buttered new potatoes, pasta salad, sliced tomatoes, rolls & strawberry shortcake. He ate the pork chop & most of the squash and of course snarfed down the shortcake in record time. The potatoes, peas, pasta & tomatoes….he just sorta pushed them around the plate.

    >.<

  6. Old NFO
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 21:02:38

    Most folks DON’T cook, if they can’t microwave it, the kids don’t get it… sigh…

  7. Morgan
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 21:35:06

    I can tell you I know what a squash tastes like: disgusting. At the risk of sounding harsh, it tastes like an abomination.

  8. snigsspot
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 21:50:21

    That’s what the husband thought too, Morgan. Until he ate it the way I prepare it. I’m pretty sure all his family ever did was boil it & strain it off on the plate. >.<

    2nd night of eating too good- bbq country style ribs, baked beans, corn on the cob, rolls, watermelon and strawberry shortcake….le sigh.

    At least I don't have to cook the next two nights! 🙂

