Happy Mother’s Day

Hope all you Moms out there had a very nice day.

I did.  The fam & I sneaked off to Helen.  It’s the first time we’ve been in 3 years and I was slightly dismayed.  I reckon the economy hasn’t been too kind to that little tourist trap.  Most of the nice shops have sold out to Ahab The A-rab types and they are selling cheap junk and t-shirts.  The whole town needs a new coat of paint and a good cleaning, too.

Le sigh.

Guess we’ll have to find a new vacation spot for whenever we decide to go on vacation…


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob Perrow
    May 09, 2011 @ 00:05:09

    I remember trips to Helen from when I was a kid. We went to look at leaves. There wasn’t much commercial stuff going on there in the sixties. If I remember correctly, there was a nice sized lake there with paddleboats. I would go there early in the morning, and the owner of the spot was all too ready to let me use a paddleboat for free in exchange for bringing all the boats back that had drifted away.

    Hmm, was I a sucker or what??

  2. snigsspot
    May 09, 2011 @ 00:41:27

    Unicoi lake is probably the lake you’re remembering.

    We rented a peddleboat once…holy crap that thing will wear ya out! I felt like I’d been a million miles after just an hour or so.

  3. Old NFO
    May 09, 2011 @ 07:01:14

    That truly sucks… 😦

  4. ORPO1
    May 09, 2011 @ 09:35:26

    I don’t even know where it is!
    Sort of like Glacier National Park along the boundaries at the East Portal. Except no A-rabs, we got hippies and tree huggers instead!
    Nice pics my dear.

