Big ol’ sissy

Yep, that’s me.  At least that’s how I feel here at 0130.

I was reaching to turn the computer off at 11:10, when there was a knock at my window.

Literally, someone knocked on my bedroom window.

4 times.

The blinds were turned wrong and whoever it was could see me…and I sure as hell couldn’t see them.

And I didn’t have one damned clue as to where the Blackhawk was.

Normally, it’s here within reach.  But not tonight…I had to go looking for it.

By the time I could get to the light switch that let me see out front, whoever had time to either find a nice dark spot to hide in or get gone.  I killed the interior lights and watched.  I saw a shadow in a place a shadow shouldn’t have been. 

BUT…I cannot see at night.  Flat.can’t.do.it.  Night blind?  I don’t know what to call it, but I can’t see.

I decided to call the husband…then the cops.

Didn’t take either long to show up.

The husband found foot prints that didn’t belong to any of us.  However, whoever made them was long gone.  The tracks came and went…

But now I feel like the world’s biggest damned sissy.  I feel like I should have handled it on my own, but couldn’t.

Dammit, I do not like being a damsel in distress.  I’m supposed to be tough enough to handle anything on my own, except of course, spiders. 😛

No beauty sleep for me tonight!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. portia
    May 02, 2011 @ 09:03:25

    Holy crap! That would have scared me completely! I have my little .357 on my bedroom side table but I don’t carry it around the house with me. I have often wondered what I would do if I was on the other side of the house when someone burst in. Time to carry a holster on my hip?

  2. Crucis
    May 02, 2011 @ 10:00:23

    Snigs, that is why you must own more than one gun. I carry one from when I dress in the morning until I go to bed. Plus there are more hidden around the house including our bedroom. All within easy reach.

  3. snigsspot
    May 02, 2011 @ 17:51:06

    Crucis…I own far more than 1 gun. FAR more. However, *the* gun of choice is the BlackHawk.

    There are guns in every room…utility, living, kitchen, bedroom(s), bathroom…when I reach for one in a time like this, I want it to be the one I like the best. 😉

  4. ORPO1
    May 02, 2011 @ 20:47:35

    It is good to use judgement as you did. The response seems to have been expeditious. All of us have these moments under stress…………..
    It’s OK, My Dear.

  5. Rick
    May 02, 2011 @ 21:23:44

    I am glad to hear your safe.
    I know the feeling about seeing at night.
    I have a six “D” cell Mag-Lite close by my Remington 870

  6. minimedic
    May 03, 2011 @ 18:22:09

    I encountered a similar “visitor” like yours, and one bit of advice that they gave me is to keep a can of Raid nearby, as it apparently will do VERY nasty things to the human eye if directly applied…

  7. snigsspot
    May 03, 2011 @ 19:06:34

    I’m an arachnophobe…do you think I ever have a can of Raid that isn’t pretty much empty? 😀 😀

  8. minimedic
    May 04, 2011 @ 01:29:47

    Buy more!

