Electricity!!!

I have it again after right at 60 hours without it from Monday night’s storm.

The local paper said there was a confirmed tornado and it passed approximately 2000 feet from my house.

Our freezer held good and all the food in it was still hard-frozen this morning.  The refrigerator did pretty good, but we finally had to start packing ice in it.

We had some loose shingles, downed trees & lots of limbs down, but suffered no other damage.

We were scared shitless for awhile Monday night, as the storm rolled in around 1:15.  The power went out around 1:30 and the storm really began to rage.  I saw pine trees wringing and bending nearly double by the light of the near continuous lightning.  There was no power at work with the exception of what the emergency generator supplied until after lunch time Tuesday.  A few folks were lucky enough to get their power back Wednesday.  We called a lot yesterday…the power would be back on by “afternoon”.  Afternoon came & went, called again…the power would be back on by early evening.  Early evening came & went…it would be back on at midnight.

No dice.

I don’t know what linemen are paid, but they earned their $$$ plus some.  A multitude of men worked around the clock to get us back to living in 2011 v/s what felt like living in 1850.  I heard a LOT of nasty stuff said about them and I reminded one lady that a) those linemen sure didn’t cause the damage, b) they were working their asses off, even before the storm was over to get things going again, c) several were missing their vacations to stay here & work, d) several had come back from their vacations where they could help and e) there was no reason to be bratty assholes.

I was whiny, but I was never mad.

Anyway, I gotta go work on the stockpile of laundry and dishes that have accumulated.  And put away the camp stove & lanterns.

Y’all have a great Friday & remember to Thank God for it! 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob Perrow
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 22:03:50

    I remember those tornadoes in Georgia…lots and lots of broken pine limbs everywhere.

    Glad you’re back in civilization, Snigs.

  2. Old NFO
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 22:35:38

    That’s good news, and yes, the linemen and women are outstanding! They do mutual aid, and work long hours restoring service. I always thank them and have furnished coffee/water before when they were restoring power in my area before.

  3. ORPO1
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 23:03:18

    roger that!

  4. snigsspot
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 23:09:15

    Know the best part??? I GOT TO TAKE A REAL BATH!!!

  5. Rick
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 23:20:54

    I am glad your safe.I am sorry for not coming by sooner.
    Life kinda got in the way.

