Hey RT!

I need someone in the know to tell me…is the following sentence grammatically correct?  If it is, it sure sounds awkward to me. ???

Officers quickly surrounded Hood as he lied on the ground.

As for the guy who was busy “lied on the ground”…well, considering his crime, I think lying IN the ground would be far more appropriate.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ami
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 02:14:10

    It’s possible that he lied on the ground… that he lied while sitting in a chair, that he lied while eating chocolate pudding, that he lied while standing in the foyer of his local church.

    But the way it was used?

    Don’t think so.

  2. Lnda
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 08:48:18

    It should be ‘as he lay on the ground’, but as you know, people don’t know how to express themselves in print or voice. Our country has really been dumbed down!

    I agree with you, he should lie in the ground!

  3. snigsspot
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 11:27:10

    I’m thinking it should be “as he lie on the ground”…but I could be wrong.

    I know danged good & well, lied isn’t right.

  4. ORPO1
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 12:53:34

    It is ‘as he lay on the ground’ Linda is correct on this one.
    And since I grew up in a family filled with school teachers, I go with that one myself.

  5. Old NFO
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 13:38:07

    Grammer, schmammer, who needs it, us poor edumacted slobs can’t read anyway… sigh… and it ‘should’ have said either lay or laid… obviously the roofpreader wasn’t at work that day… 😀

  6. RT
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 15:46:15

    Well, usually criminals lie when officers have them on the ground…not ones for telling the truth and all. 😉

  7. Bob Perrow
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 22:53:38

    I’m no grammer slammer, but I agree, it should say, “as he lay on the ground.”

    Just sounds right to me.

    Bob Perrow

  8. snigsspot
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 23:17:16

    When I did The Female Odd Couple, one line in it was, “I am going in here to lie down.”. I kept saying lay instead of lie. The director was a long, long time English teacher & buddy, she’d get hopping mad. “Lay is NOT right, you are going to LIE down.”. She said you lay other things on the floor, but you lie on the floor.

    She was sorta mean, despite being a brilliant director, so I didn’t argue with her.

  9. minimedic
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 14:42:37

    The people who emerged with Hood were led away by officers and questioned, Keenan said. Authorities said the nine hostages included a toddler, an infant and a 13-year-old girl. None of the hostages appeared to be hurt, Keenan said, and investigators were trying to determine how Hood knew them.

    Quinton Riden, one of the hostages, said Hood didn’t threaten them or treat them badly during the ordeal. He said he and Hood are acquaintances.

    “Jamie didn’t do no harm to none of us,” Riden said outside the Athens-Clarke County police station after being questioned by police early Saturday. “He treated us like family.”

    Really? In what alternate reality is it okay to hold your friends and family hostage against their will?

  10. snigsspot
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 15:31:12

    That’s EXACTLY what I said, MM! I’m so sick of hearing what a nice person someone is when they commit murder. Absolutely sick of it.

