Well that didn’t work out how I thought it would

Yesterday at work was um, shall I say, Different.

A) CPR recertification (good thing)
B) The administrator took EVERYONE off the floor for this except yours truly.

No shit…JUST me on the floor from 12:30-3:30.

That meant FEEDING, transferring, toileting, giving out meds, checking in a new admit…all.frickin.by.myself.

I failed miserably…3 patients fell, 2 patients got their 1:00 pm meds at 3:00, there was much “COME HERE! HELP ME!” whiny-assed hollering.

Bottom line, I did the best I could.

BUTTTTTTTTTTTT

this would be a great time to mention the freaking administrator was on the floor, doing NOTHING except telling ME I needed to work on my time management skills.

70+ people…fed, transferred, toileted and tended….and one person can have enough time management skills to do all that by themselves?

The last straw was when she handed me the glucose meter and said, “3-11 shift is still in training.  How about you go around and get all the blood sugars for them?”.

She held it.  Words I remember mentioning include- you gotta be crazy; have you lost your mind?; you want what?

The last thing I did was put the glucometer in her hand and tell her to feel free to knock herself out.

I had someone count my narcs, clocked out and came home.

Today was my day off and I figured they’d call & tell me not to come back & my next check would be mailed to me.

They called.

The DON called…congratulating me on the exceptionally fine job I did yesterday.

Show of hands of those who think she was applauding 3 patients falling, meds not being given at the right time, etc…?

Anyone?  Buehler?

I think she was congratulating me on standing up to the administrator and all her arrogance without being overly ugly to her.  (I may have said, “Are you crazy?”, but at least I said it in a decent tone.

So…I’m getting a raise and getting more supervisory responsibility because I have such an authoritative tone and air about me.  (Should I read that as, “You be one bossy bitch.”?)

Oh.fracking.joy.

I’m seeing about a one way ticket to the closest insane asylum.  I’ll be sure and send y’all an address.  Please write or stop by when you have the chance.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crucis
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 17:29:31

    Is this the new job or the old one? Daughter starts at the hospital on the 27th. Turned in her resignation Wednesday. Same hours, same schedule (which she wanted) and more money. Private site. ADON/Patient ratio is 40. ADON is a LPN. At the old place the ratio was 120—a full floor.

  2. Ami
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 17:36:13

    Holy Schitt.

    It’s awesome that you stood up to her (finally) but dayum!

    This is why it’s scary to contemplate someday needing to be ‘in a home’.

    I will die first. On purpose if I have to.

  3. Lnda
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 17:46:51

    I knew there was a reason I didn’t go into nursing homes to practice! Yikes! You had quite the day. I’m glad you survived, and so did the clients.

  4. Old NFO
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 20:16:03

    LOL- Probably congratulated you for not bitch slapping the admin into the next county… just sayin…

  5. Rho
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 23:06:06

    And you are still working there?

  6. Rick
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 00:48:20

    The good part about the insane asylum is the neat white jacket with long sleeves that tie in the back. along with the medication that lets you take a trip and not leave the farm.

  7. Skul
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 12:09:11

    Pretty much the same in most businesses.
    Those that are willing to actually work….get most of it, and sometimes, all.

