What would make you happy?

Got a resident who just flat isn’t happy.

Years of ignored diabetes has led to a multitude of problems which have rendered him incapable of caring for himself.

He’s been a tough nut to crack & at first, I thought he was the most ornery old cuss I’d had to deal with.  Turns out, I think he’s just been unhappy (and ignored) for so long, he’s become grumpy.

Well, he’s finally figured out that A) I will listen to him, B)  I will try to fix the things that can be fixed and C) I give a damn, even though I don’t “have” to.

So today, I finally had time to sit down & talk with him.  “O, what exactly are you unhappy with & what would you like to have or have done?”.

He thought for a minute and said-
* Why has my physical therapy stopped?
* Why is the food so bland?
* Who will clean my urinal bottle?  It stinks?
* Why did I see a psychiatrist yesterday when I was told I was going to see an eye doctor?  Is the eye doctor really coming?
* What would make me truly happy?  BBQ pigs’ feet

I made my list and started digging to find the answers.

First stop, the physical therapy department.  I got the answer from them.

Second stop, the supply closet for a new urinal bottle.  Labeled it with his name & drew a smiley face on it. (I draw on their bandages, their “stock” items, and anything else they want me to.  They actually like my silly cartoon drawings)

Third stop, the social worker’s office to confirm that there really was an eye doctor coming to see him and when.  Also, found out the psychiatrist saw all the patients yesterday evening who were on antidepressants.

Fourth stop, his room.  I presented him with the new urinal, explained that he’d hit a plateau with therapy, that federal standards mandated the food be free of the “seasonings” us Southerners are so accustomed to and wrote on his personal calendar when the eye doctor was coming.  I didn’t mention the pigs’ feet.

First thing I did when I got home this afternoon was call one of the local BBQ joints that specializes in “soul food” and I ordered him some pigs’ feet.  I’ll pick them up Saturday afternoon & deliver them (on my time off!) Saturday evening for supper.

I also lit a fire under the maintenance guy’s butt about a wheelchair that needed some attention.  Came to find out that the chair has had this “problem” for OVER TWO YEARS!  Grrrrr.  It wasn’t important enough to anyone else to mention it, but it was causing the resident a great deal of trouble with maneuvering about.  That problem will be remedied in the morning, when the maintenance guy brings the spot welder & fixes it.

There was a rash of urinal replacement requests after O got his new smiley face urinal…at least I made a few folks’ days a bit brighter.

Oh, and one last thing…you know how to get an entire roomful of old folks to tip their heads sideways and look at you funny?

Come in the room, holding a new urinal & announce that you found yourself a brand new coffee cup!

😀

THANK GOD TOMORROW IS FRIDAY & I GET A WEEKEND OFF!!!!!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rick
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 19:21:38

    Thank God for caring people like you

  2. Portia
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 19:39:47

    You are such a caring person! But, not being originally from the South, the idea of pigs feet grosses me out. Sure I see them in the grocery store but I ignore them and walk on by.

  3. snigsspot
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 20:05:02

    Oh Portia, you & me, both! Feet, tails, necks, innards, ears….that is all scrap to me & should be discarded, not consumed!

  4. Old NFO
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 21:06:16

    As ALWAYS, it’s the little things… Thanks for doing a good job Snigs! 😀

  5. Rho
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 23:13:40

    It’s amazing what you can find out by just stopping and listening to someone. Good job.

