Close your eyes, Ethel!!

Look at that, look at that!

So, I sorta flashed a patient today.

NOT ON PURPOSE, mind you, but it happened none-the-less.

It was 13:30 and time for the residents’ smoke break.  Might be a good time to point out that the wind was blowing like one of those mother truckers you hear about.  Seriously, gusts up to 40 mph.  Ugh.

I tried to light R’s cigarette with no success.  If I stood in front of him, I was blocking the wind to a degree, BUT I couldn’t see whether it was lit from behind my own hands.  Tried another angle, no dice.

Finally figured out if I stood behind his wheel chair & put my arms around him, I could shield the cigarette with my hands AND still see whether it was lit or not.

So, there I was, bent over R, wearing one of my favorite snap-front scrub tops.

Little did I know my shirt had hung on one of the handle bars of his wheelchair.  (Not sure “handle bar” is the correct term for the part, but you get the drift.)

And I stood up.

And there was progressive unsnapping.

Unsnap.  Unsnap.  Unsnap.  Unsnap.  Unsnap.

And did I mention the wind was blowing like an SOB?

Not only was there unsnapping, but thanks to the wind, there was unfurling…

and flapping in the breeze.

And one of the guys was sitting in his wheelchair directly in front of me, with O.O eyes.

He said, “I was fixing to get you to relight my cigarette, because it went out.  Damned thing lit back up after that though.”.

Guess I’ll be “that nurse with the cute ass AND tits” now?

>.<

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minimedic
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:53:42

    I know I shouldn’t laugh, but I did find this rather funny…

  2. snigsspot
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 21:08:53

    You might as well laugh, Mini…I sure did. Heck, if I’d acted like it really bothered me, you know it would be used against me in the future.

  3. Bob Perrow
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 21:16:50

    Snigs, we always knew you were a closet exhibitionist.

  4. Portia
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 21:25:48

    Made me laugh out loud!

  5. snigsspot
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 21:26:58

    Speaking of exhibitionist…

    I stopped a nice little old lady in the hall Monday, to give her medication. Asked her if she’d like to go to her room for her insulin shot & she said no, it was fine with her to do it right there. So, I suggested she take it in the arm, to which she replied, “No, I prefer to take them in the tummy.”. I REasked if she wouldn’t prefer to go to her room then, as it would require her to lift her gown and she’d be showing her panties.

    Nope, wanted it RIGHT there…in the tummy.

    Ok…I turned around and was drawing the injection up & turned back around and she had her gown nearly to her neck…

    and not a stitch of ANYTHING on under it.

    That was the fastest insulin shot/gown hem snatching down (snatching might not be an appropriate choice of words considering, but oh well) in history.

    Oh and Bob, Exhibition de la Snigs wasn’t in the closet, but was on the front porch where the smokers gather.

    😛

  6. ORPO1
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 23:54:26

    😛

  7. snigsspot
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 23:56:44

    A raspberry is all I get, ORPO1? Le sigh.

  8. Bob Perrow
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:11:48

    Snigs, that’s almost enough to make me want to take up ANOTHER bad habit.

  9. Rick
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 13:33:04

    Did the old guy start singing I can see clearly now?

  10. snigsspot
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 16:59:12

    You know what all y’alls’ responses prove?

    Y’all are as crazy as me! 🙂

  11. Rick
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 19:20:52

    After 10 years working in a prison I have you beat in the crazy department

  12. snigsspot
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 20:05:45

    Don’t bet on it, Rick… 😉

  13. Old NFO
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 21:07:23

    LOL- too bad somebody didn’t have a camera… 😛

  14. Rho
    Jan 27, 2011 @ 23:11:42

    That’s one of the funniest things I’ve read all day! Still I can see how easily it could happen. As for the little old lady who was the flasher, that was more common than uncommon in the nursing home where I worked.

