My head hurts

Got word a little over an hour ago that the prison where the husband works (FOUR year old facility!) will be closing first of next year.

Our new Republican governor’s idea of a good way to save money.

Ya know, at 52, the job prospects get less & less.

So…I’m canceling my resignation from the job I hate.  Keeping a definite full-time job with benefits is too important right now.

Time to munch on some more Advil.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. minimedic
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 16:30:42

    I’ve watched one of my favorite uncles go through the same ordeal of trying to find a job after 40…hell, I’m a recent college graduate and it seems like no one is hiring.

    Advil? I’d be knocking back something a little stronger after THAT news, especially since you have to work at a placce you utterly hate.

  2. Old NFO
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 19:30:58

    Damn… 😦

  3. RT
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 21:34:21

    Awwww…so sorry Snigs. That just sucks. I voted for the guy who thinks he is helping education in my state. I don’t want to go into it. But there are cuts, and then there are CUTS.

    It sucks. I am sorry you all are going through this. I will be praying for you all.

  4. Rho
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 21:41:19

    GAH! If it’s not one thing, it’s another!

  5. Rick
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 22:04:31

    I am sorry to hear about the closing.
    I will say a prayer or two for you both

  6. OrangeNeck
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 18:19:58

    You know, I keep hearing that the Dow is over 12,000. WTF does that mean? Where is all the money and where are all the jobs? Where’s the damned “recovery??”

