It’s always nice to have a positive outcome

I called my first code today.

And when the ambulance left, my 89 year old patient was breathing on his own.

Although I’m very happy he’s alive, I wanted to sit down and bawl my eyes out when it was all over.  Very conflicting feelings going through me then & still now.

I was congratulated on my professionalism & leadership and there was a LOT of hugging afterwards.

This is one of the kindest, sweetest, most gentle old souls in the place and we are all VERY attached to him.  When the nurse doing CPR started off, she cracked some ribs…and she commenced to crying.  I told her repeatedly that she was doing it right and had done nothing wrong.  Hell, my CPR instructor told me “if you don’t break ribs, you’re doing it wrong!”**.  Still, it hurts to know you’re breaking someone’s bones.

Anyway, after about 5-10 minutes of CPR, he came back to us.  If they roll out breathing on their own & their heart beating (even if it’s thready & weak), I figure we more than earned our days pay.

And anybody who thinks working in a nursing home is boring is wrong.

Time for a scalding bath and a stiff cup of coffee.  And a handful of Advil, too.

Y’all have a good night.

**Confirmed this with AD and dammit, if he says it’s so, it IS so!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 20:31:55

    Congrats! I hope he has a few more good years!

  2. Rick
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 00:07:04

    Congratulations on a job well done

  3. Crucis
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 00:18:49

    My daughter, the CNA, had one a couple of weeks ago. Unlike yours,hers had a DNR. She follewed protocol and she and the on-called watched an old lady slip away. My daughter’s first.

  4. ORPO1
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 13:24:17

    Way to Go Sweetie! Way to Go!

  5. snigsspot
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 09:38:43

    Thanks guys.

    Crucis, I’ve watched the DNRs go. Usually, they *need* to go…I hope that doesn’t sound callous, but when the brain and the body have nothing left, it just seems the best to me. I usually thank them for the chance to get to know them & tell them I enjoyed my time with them. Can they hear me? Heck if I know, but I figure a kind word is the best “send off” someone could give them.

  6. Old NFO
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 10:35:30

    You can fix broken ribs, stopped hearts, not so much… Good job Snigs!

