Some folks don’t like me

because I tend to be rather hard-headed (stunner, ain’t it?) and when I set my mind to it, what I want to happen WILL happen.

How would you like to drink all your meals?

I don’t mean just because they’re pureed and you can drink them, but because the powers that be chose to mix all your pureed food with milk, tea or coffee and forced you to consume your meals like that?

Pureed hamburger/bun…mixed in milk.

Pureed peas…mixed with tea.

Pureed cabbage…mixed with milk.

Does the word DISGUSTING come to your mind?  Well, it did to mine.

There’s a woman at work who has been fed this way for quite some time.  Yes, her brain is demented to the point that she seems downright loony.  Ask her how she is and she might reply with “Green squirrel car”.  She just pulls words (and occasionally phrases) out of the air and says them.

Supposedly, she’s forgotten how to eat.  I can believe she’s forgotten the mechanical process of eating- holding a fork, putting it in her mouth, etc…- but not how to chew and swallow.

And as long as she CAN chew & swallow, she WILL NOT be “fed” nothing but disgusting concoctions of liquids.

Not on my shift by God.

I pissed a few folks off by taking this stand.  However, Ms. L has SEEMED to actually enjoy her meals since I started feeding her.

And I do it without that damned demeaning BIB hung around her neck.

I swear, no patient of mine will EVER endure anything that I wouldn’t be willing to go through.  And until it’s absolutely necessary, pureed food mixed with whatever beverage is at hand and poured down the throat is NOT something I would go along with.

After 6 meals in a row eaten properly, the powers that be have relented and agree the former feeding method is not a wise choice.

Score one for Snigs.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Portia
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 22:53:44

    Good for you!! That does sound disgusting! Did her family know this was happening?

  2. minimedic
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 23:02:44

    “Well-behaved women rarely make history.”

    Way to go on taking a stand on patient care, girl!

  3. Rick
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 00:44:04

    Good for you sticking up for this woman

  4. Old NFO
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 14:33:32

    Good for you Snigs… Dignity is a ‘small’ thing, but an important one! 🙂

  5. Ami
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 22:57:29

    On behalf of family members who are now gone, THANK YOU.
    It seems that sometimes, people don’t realize that they’re supposed be taking care of a PERSON… not a shell or automaton.

    And yes. We went through that with my grandmother.

    My grandfather finally started bringing her meals and feeding her. Because she wouldn’t eat the pureed stuff.

  6. ORPO1
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 13:25:52

    You must stand for something.
    And that you do so very well, dear lady. So very well.
    And don’t forget there are a lot of us out here who luv ya!
    For what you do.

