Doesn’t matter

how shitty my day was or wasn’t, I’m happier than a bug, snug in a rug right now.

Spent the last 2 hours listening to my Daddy tell tales of trucking across America…

driving on solid ice, hauling swinging pork, driving without brakes, stories of fender benders & freaking out fat ladies with air horns…

I could sit for days listening to him.

Yup, he’s my number one hero.  Always has been, always will be.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ami
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 20:29:53

    So how do you pick out the fat lady from the crowd? She’s the one with the air horn.

    Ha.

  2. Lnda
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 20:48:45

    Enjoy him while you can! I wish I had some more time with my daddy.

  3. Portia
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 22:49:56

    My parents are coming over tomorrow so this was a timely post. They are in their 80’s and I know one day I won’t have them anymore. So when they are driving me nuts I need to remember this. 🙂

  4. ORPO1
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 23:26:55

    As Lnda said.
    My Dad has been gone for just over 19 years. Remembrance Day, 1991.
    The stories were of far away places and then we compared notes on those far away places.
    Deer hunting on the steppes of NC Montana with my boys and him. Drinking beer on a cold November night watching the Aurora Borealis.
    Treasure it all.

  5. Old NFO
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 14:09:38

    Enjoy the time… and treasure it…

  6. Rick
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 22:25:18

    My dad and great uncle’s were truck drivers.
    One of my great uncles started with Mayflower moving company they had chain drive trucks.Man could they tell some stories.

  7. Skul
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 10:40:32

    ROFL@Ami.

    Mines been gone for years now. Miss the story telling while we were fishing.
    I might suggest writing them down. They start to fade in a few years.

