Paradise, Another Day Perhaps

I haven’t quit loving the job, trust me.  Today was a crappy day though.

1.  The administrator (who has no direct resident dealings) decided to play fruitbasket turnover with some of their room assignments today.  That left me with 4 confused & upset and 2 crying residents.  Not to mention, the planned rooms to be moved to changed a couple of times during the day.  I had to play hide & seek to give them their meds & check on them.

2.  I had a KILLER headache.  All.frackin.day.  Woke up with it, still have it after taking an assortment of acetaminophen, ibuprofen, & actual aspirin.

3.  A resident’s daughter decided Mom needed to move to another facility.  I don’t know the reasoning behind the decision, but I do (now) know there is a 3 inch stack of paperwork to complete for a transfer.  Daughter-in-law got to our place & Mom started bawling- she didn’t want to move.  Daughter-in-law wasn’t thrilled with the idea of Mom moving either, nor did she know the reason for the move.  She called Son/husband and the move was nixed.  After I had done the 3 inches of paperwork & shredded other appropriate paperwork.  I had a one inch stack to recreate.  Lost time- 1.5 hours.

4.  A 50 year old resident’s mother decided to complain that the resident’s clothes didn’t “match”.  Repeated explanations of why her pants had been changed- recurrent bouts of diarrhea- weren’t satisfactory, as her ENTIRE outfit should have been changed each time. Love the resident, coulda smacked her mama though.

5.  I think several of my coworkers had their cornflakes pissed in at some point during the day.

6.  Did I mention the headache?

1.5 hours until I down a (recalled) pain pill & call it a night.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 23:55:08

    Some days you’re the bug, some days you’re the windshield… Sounds like today was a bug day… 😦

  2. snigsspot
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 00:34:31

    Well, to be honest, when bug meets windshield, it’s generally not good for either…like all other aspects of life, if it were spread out instead of all problems at once, it probably wouldn’t be so bad.

  3. Old NFO
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 19:05:30

    Good point, but that’s not reality… dammit… 😦

  4. ptz ip camera
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 09:43:42

    You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material.

