Yowza Baby-o!

Wow, when wishing for more ‘seasonal’ weather, I reckon I just didn’t know what I was asking for!

As the forecast stands now, Monday’s high should be in the 20’s, with a low of 12* and winds of 30+ mph.

With a bit of the white stuff.

12*?  In December?  Pardon me, Mother Nature, but you’ve got it goofed up again.

This is Georgia.  We briefly see the teens in January.  Got it sister?

KThxBai.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charles Pergiel
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 18:19:00

    You’re very funny. 🙂

  2. snigsspot
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 18:37:37

    See what happens when it’s not just the butt that gets as cold as a ButterBall Turkey?

    Do you know I don’t even own a coat warm enough for this weather? I brought out the suede coat. Not heavy enough. Brought out the poly-filled coat. Not heavy enough. Brought out the aviator’s jacket I got 20 years ago at the Military Surplus shop. Not.heavy.enough.

    The cold I guess I could deal with adequately, if it weren’t for the damned wind. It’s done a number on my skin, too. I’m figuring tonight would be a great night to fill the tub with Vaseline & just wallow in it. >.<

  3. Crucis
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 19:12:24

    That’s nuthin’. You’re just experiencing our normal weather this time of year. We don’t get much snow in KC but it does get cold and windy.

    When I was younger, I worked briefly (a month) on a contract for a surveyor who was marking out a pipeline. We were outside from daylight to dusk. During January that was from 7AM to 5PM.

    The high for the month was 10. The average was 3. And that was in Fahrenheit, not Celsius.

  4. snigsspot
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 19:36:53

    According to folks much older than myself, this IS something out of the ordinary for us. The record lows are from back in the 1920’s…that means 100 years and it’s not been this kind of cold.

    The winters of 83-86 were all cold as snot. I think it was January of 84 that for two weeks the high was 15*. In 86, it was so cold that it took 10-15 minutes to pump 5 gallons of gas. The pumps just wouldn’t bring it up any faster. I remember it well because that was the first year I was driving. I remember 84 really well, too. We’d just moved here & Daddy was remodeling the bathroom when that weather hit. I came to understand why folks used chamber pots, as that damned outhouse was COLD to use.

    Come to think of it, I really hated my parents about that time. Not only was the city girl (who was used to a nice, warm, tight, up-to-date house) living in a airy, ancient, drafty, COLD house without an indoor bathroom, but they took me away from my friends at the age of 14. That was just unacceptable at the time…especially considering I never got the horse I was promised! (Thank God I didn’t get the horse! I would have frozen my scrawny ass off taking care of it that year!)

  5. Old NFO
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 23:02:58

    Hah 🙂 Welcome to my world …LOL 😛

  6. ORPO1
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 00:36:33

    Been in the low sixties during the day here in The Mojave Desert. Lows at night are in the upper twenties and low thirties. The winds are light from the WSW to WNW. Most pleasant indeed.
    And having grown up just a bit south of the 49th parallel in the rolling plains of NC Montana, I know how bad winter can be. Seen the thermometer at -65 with the wind chill at or below -100(on the old scale)
    I have really done the Calvin thing and peed outside and have it freeze on contact with the ground!

  7. Rick
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:09:22

    This is caused by Globull Warming.
    I hope the heat is not too bad for you.

