It’s Lurve!

I have a very nice gentleman resident (don’t call them “patients” anymore) who I’ve been taking care of for the past few weeks.

He’s highly confused, tends to hallucinate & most importantly, tries to stand & walk when those feats are far beyond his abilities anymore.

To save him falling in the floor & braining himself yet again and to save myself a buttload of paperwork, I have the habit of pulling his wheelchair around with me when I’m doing my med passes.  He thinks he’s helping me, we talk, I sing to him (Gawd I’m glad he’s half deaf, as I sound like two cats having sex in a blender when I sing) and so on.

Well, after a few weeks of “hanging out” with me, he’s gotten to where I’m the only one he’ll really respond to.  I think that’s because I take up time with him & instead of throwing him around like an inanimate sack of potatoes, I explain everything I do to him.

The other night, he was in bad need of changing & he took to fighting the CNAs when they attempted to do so.  And yeah, when I say “fighting”, I DO mean coming out swinging & kicking.  The CNAs started yelling for him to quit fighting, which drew my attention.  I went in, told them to stop for a minute, got him by the hands (he never swings at me!), got close enough for him to see & hear me well & explained what was happening.

For good measure, I held onto his hands while they changed his pants.  They finished up, cleared out & I let him go.  I was about to head back to my other duties when he told me he was “sorry”.

Silly me, I thought he was apologizing about cutting up during clothes changing time.  Mistake #2 was asking what he was sorry for.

He motioned for me to come closer and when I leaned down, he whispered, “I’m sorry.  My peter done gone & shriveled up to nothing.”.

Thanks for sharing.  >.<

I assured him I hadn’t noticed (I WAS looking him in the face after-all) & beat a path back to the nurses’ desk where I promptly started rolling with laughter.

Since then, he’s been overly concerned about my well-being.

Friday night/Saturday morning I crashed.  I slept over 15 hours.  Going into work at 1500, I felt absolutely GREAT.  Seriously, the best I’d felt in a couple of weeks.

He was concerned that I hadn’t been there since Thursday to start with.  Of course, nobody had been treating him “right” during the time I was off (36 whole hours!).  And I was just being worked entirely too hard & should sit down and rest.

Later, I went out to smoke a cigarette.  He drove the nurse I’d asked to keep an eye on him nearly nuts asking where I’d gone.  Five minutes later I was back & he lamented on & on about how long I was gone & how he’d missed me.  He got me by the hand and realized how cold my hand was and fussed about me being too cold.  In his attempt to warm my hand (rubbing it with his hands), he realized my whole arm was cold and then he really went off the deep end about how I needed to be better taken care of.

Gave him his medication & called the CNAs to change him into his pajamas & get him into bed.  Of course, he wouldn’t let THEM take his shirt off…I had to take his shirt off & explain that they were there to help and I was gonna “pinch his head off” if he didn’t cooperate with the nice young people.

😀

They got him changed & when I checked on him a few minutes later, telling him it was about time for me to go home, he said it was too cold & too dark for me to be on the road by myself & he thought I should just spend the night with him.

I guess since I haven’t worked since Sunday & won’t work again until Friday, he will either be totally freaked out or have totally forgotten me.

And I’m not sure that option B isn’t the best option.

😀

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Old NFO
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 21:22:33

    At least he’s not thinking with the ‘wrong’ head… 😛

  2. Rick
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 21:45:59

    Children and older people are brutally honest. He is in Love.

  3. snigsspot
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 22:01:08

    I love him, too. Just not in the same way. >.<

    I love the worst of the patients, er residents, like they're my own. The ones I love the most are the ones the rest of the staff detest the most. I figure they need me the most, because everyone should be loved by someone.

    I hold hands, I scratch backs, I tell them they are beautiful. I greet them with the most cheerful "Good Morning" I can muster, even after they've driven me somewhat batty (battier?) for the 8 hours overnight. I dance with them while they sit in their wheelchairs & I laugh at their horrible jokes- even the jokes they can't remember the punchline for.

    When they argue that they aren't beautiful, I remind them where true beauty lies- in the eyes & the heart- and they seem to appreciate that I've noticed.

  4. Rick
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 00:31:06

    You are a angel sent by God to these people

  5. ORPO1
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 00:42:42

    Who wouldn’t in that situation? You bring that brightness that has been missing for them.
    You have found your calling!

  6. Portia
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 07:51:59

    Your post brought tears to my eyes. You bring them dignity when no one else seems to care.

  7. Lnda
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 09:00:29

    Oh my! Those old guys can sure make a bother! When my dad was in the home, he would always try to ‘cop’ a feel, and loved getting his bath because they would wash ‘it’. It really bothered me, and the nurse told me the ‘drive’ is the last thing to go. “Yea,” I said!

    It really got so bad, my brother, who is a policeman, came down and talked to dad. He told him that what he was doing was ‘assault’. He told dad that the next incident, the nurses were to call the local police, and dad would be arrested. I think dad lightened up.

    You are great, giving compassion to those mostly forgotten old folks.

  8. snigsspot
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 18:41:43

    Linda- So far, no groping- attempted nor otherwise. 😉

    Portia- That’s what I aim for. The dignity, not tears. ((Hugs))

    ORPO1- I reckon I have. After the ordeal with my grandmother, my mother is actually *proud* that I work in a “lowly nursing home”. I’ve always been told nursing home nurses are generally looked down on by the rest of the professionals. Don’t know if that’s true or not, but if it is, a big fat pbbfffttt to them!

    Rick- Angel is probably stretching it a bit. Although, the little black ladies call me their “White Angel”. 🙂

  9. Rho
    Dec 08, 2010 @ 19:02:04

    Don’t know about the rest of the profession, but I greatly admire nurses who specialize in geriatrics. It’s not my cup of tea. Of course, Snigs thinks I’m crazy to enjoy school nursing.

