Tired Snigs Is Tired

15 freaking hours

is too damned long for my blood.

I’m tired.

My feet hurt, my back hurts, even my knee hurts.

I’m thinking it’s time for bed.

ZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

ETA:

And at 0600, the phone rang again.  Could I come work ANOTHER 16 hours.  Oh hell no!

Then the ADON calls, begging for anything.

So, I agreed to 1700-2200, but that I’d be bringing my kids AND I’d get paid for a full 8 without a “lunch break” AND the son gets his last 5 required hours for Social Studies community service.

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeet!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Portia
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 09:17:55

    The workload of a nurse is grueling! On your feet all day and in constant motion! Hope you were able to get some good sleep.

  2. snigsspot
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 09:35:22

    Not really, Portia. Couldn’t get to sleep until around 2:30 or 3:00, then the phone rang at 6:30 and that’s been it for me. Yawn.

    At least I cut a good deal for tonight’s work. 😉

  3. ORPO1
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:19:51

    Glad it’s not me!
    Something about that on call thing.
    Did the same thing on the ballast trains. But that was our SOP.
    Wondered where you have been.

  4. snigsspot
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:58:28

    Well, that’s what a PRN nurse is for (& why the pay is better than a set shift). Not to mention, the quality of my work has gotten me bumped to the top of the list. I have right of first refusal I guess. I just don’t like being called less than 8 hours after I got off. I’d like to have SOME time to rest before going back. At least the boy is going with me tonight. I don’t have to drive home if I don’t want to. 😉

  5. Old NFO
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 15:55:07

    Good call Snigs, that’s too quick, and good call on the negotiations too! 🙂

