Is it

age related?

female related?

or

am I just weird?

I worked 16 yesterday.  My back, my legs and my toes were killing me when I got home.

I was bone tired.  I was even sleepy.

But I couldn’t go to sleep straight off for love nor money.

I’ve figured out that I can’t come straight in from work & make a beeline to the bed.  I’ve got to have 2 or 3 hours to decompress (?) if that’s the right word.

I used to be able to come in and dive straight in the bed & be snoring before my hair all hit the pillow, but no more.

Le sigh.

So…why can’t I now?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charles Pergiel
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 17:43:33

    You’re too smart and you know too much. You mind get’s all revved up dealing with problems at work and it has to have time to cool down. Kind of like a racehorse.

  2. snigsspot
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 17:46:08

    So that would be that I’m weird, right Charles? 😉

  3. Charles Pergiel
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 17:47:31

    How’s that old saying go? Everyone’s crazy except for me and thee and sometimes I wonder about you?

  4. Rho
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 18:50:15

    I’ve noticed the same thing since I’ve gotten older. If I’m desperate to fall asleep, it seems trying to read an extremely boring book. Try any of Robert Jordan’s books. That used to work for me.

  5. Rick
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 19:04:20

    It makes you human

  6. Crucis
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 19:47:36

    Adrenaline let-down. You’ve been running, hyped, all day. It’s takes a while to flush it all out and slow down.

    Is not dun quickly. BTDT.

  7. ORPO1
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 19:48:38

    When I was on the trains for those four years(age 49-53), I would have that happen occasionally. It usually occurred after an all night spot dump over about one hundred miles. Dumping speed was 16mph. And we could only go as fast as twenty five to forty in the partially loaded configuration.
    St. Croix River to LaCrosse. New crew at LaCrosse. Then to Prairie du Chein WI. Cut off the power and move it to the other end and go back to LaCrosse. Wait at the CP Rail interlocker for two hours or so. Got the train at 2000 and got off of it at 1300 the next day.
    The drive towards Vermillion SD awaited me after that. Slept at Rochester Minnesota. I got the room, showered, went next door to Pizza Hut to eat, went back to the room. Opened a beer and woke up at about 0300. Sent reports and went back to sleep.
    This was the longest. I had others that had all night out dumps due to traffic.
    And at times I would knock back four to six cold ones before crashing.
    I understand completely when the hours are far from regular.
    It is a result of the situation. Adjustment is sometimes hard.
    Did a four AM meet out side of Pampa TX one morning, Unloading the train and setup took about four hours. I hit the road to McCook, Nebraska following. Got there before dark!

  8. Old NFO
    Nov 22, 2010 @ 10:05:06

    It’s the adrenal dump… get used to it until you get the job under control and it becomes routine.

