Son of a bit…

I miss real cars.  Real cars made of real metal.

Wrapped the Saturn around a deer tonight.  Looks rough, still drivable though, thankfully.

I feel rough…and “that’s gonna leave a mark”…yeah, it did.

This is the third time I’ve slammed a window (actually, I hit more on the damned seatbelt latch than the actual window) in a car related incident.  I swear, I don’t think I’ve got too many more head injuries I can take without the brain damage starting to show.

Anybody that wants to take a swipe about the brain damage stuff, go for it.  Tonight, you win.

ETA:  The car, now that it’s daylight.  See?  Not bad at all.  I was gonna get it repainted before it becomes the kid’s car anyway.  Now I’ve just gotta get a fender put on it.  Meh, could have been worse.  If I’d hit it instead of it hitting me, I doubt the motor would have been in too good shape & I’m sure the PLASTIC radiator would have been shot to shit.  All in all, I was lucky.


11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charles Pergiel
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 20:58:28

    Yowzers.

  2. Crucis
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 21:09:45

    Ouch! Hope you had your head checked for a concussion and not try to tend yourself.

  3. ORPO1
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 22:27:35

    As Crucis says. Get that concussion check done. Damn! That must have hurt.
    I do feel for ya, darlin’

  4. snigsspot
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 22:39:14

    If y’all think I feel like driving 70 miles, y’all are smoking something I want a toke off of. I went to the local ER when I had the wreck that burst my head open in 2000. They told me I had a concussion & to go home & go to bed. That was the extent of the treatment, beyond the 40+ stitches.

    It hurts like hell, but the swelling is all to the outside. I’ve had ice on it 15 on/15 off. I was nauseated, but I think that was from being upset. I’ve taken a Percocet & am hoping for Lala Land momentarily. I don’t even want to watch Hawaii Five O tonight.

    I haven’t cried, but I’ve thought about it. One step forward, half a mile back.

  5. Lnda
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 22:42:07

    I’m glad you are okay. How’s the deer?

  6. snigsspot
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 22:48:06

    D.e.a.d. Gross thing smeared its snot across my windshield too. Nasty.

    Wish I could have done what AD did & dressed it on the spot, but I had on nice clothes, didn’t have a knife & well, my head was already hurting.

  7. Bob Perrow
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 23:51:33

    Snigs, I would take a shot at your head injury, but that would be too cheap even for me. Truth is, I’m sorry you wrecked your car and got a lick in the head to boot. I hope you get better quickly, and can get your feet back under you soon.

  8. snigsspot
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 00:21:32

    I’m okay, honest injun! I’m working tomorrow evening, so I better be anyway. The car is okay too, functionally anyway. It’s just missing the entire right fender. And there’s still snot smeared on the windshield.

    I must confess, I have a thick skull (no silliness intended). The x-ray tech even mentioned this the last time I had a CAT scan- that my skull was “thick”.

    Gotta protect this fantastic brain somehow, right? Um, don’t answer that one. 😉

    It hurts, it’s still a bit swollen, but guys- the ex husband left far worse marks than this on numerous occasions.

    However, it’s sorta embarrassing to have a shiner. Maybe being a girl has something to do with that? I mean, to the average schmo, it means a) she’s a brawler or b) she’s an idiot that hangs with an abuser. I’m worried it may freak some of my patients out tomorrow…hopefully, they won’t notice. I’m gonna smear the make-up over it & try to hide it anyway.

  9. Old NFO
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 19:59:51

    Damn girl… Glad you’re okay, and I’m not EVEN going there on the hard head… 🙂 You’re gonna have a shiner to be proud of! 😛

  10. Rick
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 22:01:42

    I leave town a few days and deers run over you.
    I am glad your doing ok.

  11. snigsspot
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 22:26:29

    You mean this is your fault, Rick? Shucks! Please don’t leave town again or at least warn me to hide under the bed while you’re gone. 🙂

