Magic Cure?

Okay…after talking with the doctor, he & I concluded the husband was dehydrated, despite claims that he was “drinking enough”.  Upon further investigation, his “enough” wasn’t even close.  Less than 1.5 quarts in over 28 hours.

Nausea & vomiting; increased pulse, respirations, temperature; decreased BP; slight mental confusion; decreased skin turgor; dark urine…all classic signs of dehydration.

Now I’m keeping up with his I&Os (what goes In, what’s coming Out) and have impressed heavily how important drinking LOTS of fluids right now is on him by saying…

If you don’t drink here, you’re gonna have to go to the hospital.  They’re gonna put an IV in your arm & give you fluids.  I will pull the IV out of your arm & reinsert it somewhere SPECIAL if you end up having to go because you won’t drink more here at home.

He looked rather uncomfortable.

The son hollers from his room, “OH GOD!  Mine just retracted to somewhere behind my kidneys!”.

The husband is drinking.  Pulse, respirations, & temperature are down.  BP is up.  Turgor is good.  Confusion is no longer.  No nausea, no vomiting & he’s even eaten some toast.

Who woulda thunk the threat of an 18 gauge IV needle in the penis would have made such a difference?

I seriously hope this lasts.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 00:01:58

    You do have a way with words do you not, M’Dear!!!!!
    8)

  2. Lnda
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 08:39:11

    Oh, you are so mean! My hubs could drink, and did, but couldn’t put out, so he had a cath for a LONG time, but, finally was able to do the job.

    I’m glad your hubby is feeling better. I guess none of us really like to drink when we are sick, or some drink until they are sick. Hummm……………

  3. Old NFO
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 10:11:34

    Glad things are on the upturn! And yeah, that threat would work with damn near ANY male… :-0

  4. snigsspot
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 11:54:15

    A. I never claimed to be nice. In fact, I’ve said many times that I’m far from nice.

    B. I say it like I see it.

    C. I don’t make threats, I make promises.

    😉

  5. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 12:28:13

    The Delivery. It was priceless! 8)

  6. Crucis
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 16:49:58

    Now THAT is a threat to getcher attention!

  7. Bob Perrow
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 23:55:44

    durned sure woulda worked with me…………

