Hey, at least I was getting paid!

Today was spent signing & dating paperwork and watching videos.

HIPAA, policies, procedures, Universal Precautions, fire fighting (without running in circles, screaming WE’RE ALL GONNA DIE!), facility tours, paperwork, paperwork & paperwork all in duplicate triplet quadruplet.

BUT

I got paid to do all that shit!

I AM EARNING MONEY AGAIN!!!

It’s been over a year since I had a job.  I’ve scrimped, I’ve saved, I’ve skipped new clothes when I needed them, I’ve bought day old bread & meat & milk that was about to go out of date (run home, freeze what won’t be used immediately).

I’ve taken advantage of good friends & family that have helped me when they could.

Finally, I’m going to be in a position to pay off bills that are about 30 days behind, save a little, put a new roof on the house & new carpet in it…and hopefully live a little too.

I miss steaks & occasionally eating out, being able to buy gas to go see the family when I want to, buying a cute shirt I happen upon in the store.

I’ve paid my dues and now at $20/hr, I’m hoping it’s time to reap some rewards.

It would behoove many to learn that nothing in life comes easy, sacrifices (that actually hurt dammit) have to be made at some point, & if you put in an honest day’s work, you may be tired, but you feel better about yourself.

Now, I gotta get ready for work again tomorrow.  I’m on the floor 0700-1900, wish me luck. 😉

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Portia
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 18:54:31

    I am guessing that your ear feels better! At least I sure hope so! Good luck with your new job!

  2. Crucis
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 19:44:53

    Congratulations again. You’ve earned it.

    Daughter got her job too but she’ll be paid about 1/2 you are. That’s one big difference between an LPN and a CNA. Talked with her this afternoon and she was on-line doing homework for her current classes. She’s working nights and Saturday so she can continue with school.

  3. Old NFO
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 20:32:00

    Congrats, we’re proud of you Snigs! 🙂

  4. Rick
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 21:52:52

    I agree with Old NFO we are very proud of you.
    God Bless

  5. snigsspot
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 00:23:59

    Thanks, everyone.

    Thanks Portia. The ear feels a good bit better. Not perfect yet, but better.

    Crucis- my admiration really goes out to your daughter. I couldn’t have done school & worked at the same time. That said, my Mom & Dad were helpful, but there wasn’t a lot of babysitting they were willing to do for me. They said *I* got things out of order- marriage, divorce, baby, marriage, more babies and well here I am. >.< I keep reminding myself that supposedly it built character. 😀

    Thanks Rick & NFO, much appreciated. 🙂

  6. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 03:30:35

    That’s my girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Skul
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 12:05:23

    YAAYYY!

  8. Rho
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 15:03:12

    Woot!

  9. Ed Bonderenka
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 01:14:41

    Congratulations. Feels good to get back to work, doesn’t it?

  10. snigsspot
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 19:39:02

    Thanks Glen, Skul, Rho & Ed. You’re 100% right Ed, it feels good to be working again, although not where I worked yesterday. More on that later though. 😉

    Hi Ed, nice to meet you. I don’t know if there is a such thing as a cyber handshake, but if there was, I’d extend it to you. 😀

