Racism IS Alive & Well In the Deep South!

If anyone tries to tell you different, don’t believe them.  However, it’s not still alive in the old fashioned blacks should be in the cotton field way like some would like you to believe.

Case in point- (all places & names have been changed)

I put in for a job at Bulldog Way Nursing home where I did my preceptorship because they made a REALLY good monetary offer AND I really liked it there.

I was to start the minute I got my license number and had already gone for the interview with the administrator last week. I called five minutes after I got my license number Monday, but it was after five, so they took my info & said I’d be called first thing Tuesday morning.

Waited & waited Tuesday & at 1100 when I still hadn’t heard anything, I called them. Got the black administrative assistant. She was “just fixing to call” me. She set me up to come in Wednesday to fill out the rest of the paperwork, do the drug test, etc…

Yesterday morning, I was out with the dogs & the assistant called me and left the message that they couldn’t get to me yesterday, they were just too busy & she would call me back “later this week or maybe next week”. I wasn’t happy. Drove straight to the local  nursing home (NOT the one with the pissy sick leave policy), filled out paperwork, peed in their cup, etc… I start there prn (as needed) tomorrow.

Well, after I got home I got to thinking how much I *WANT* to work in Bulldogs’, so I made it a point to call to speak to the DON at 7 this morning, before Monique, the assistant, came in.

The DON hadn’t made it in at that time, they said she’d be in at 8:00, so I called back. Of course I got Monique & she told me the DON wasn’t in.

Hung up, handed the phone to the husband & he called asking to speak to Sally, the DON,  & he was put through to her. (30 SECONDS after I was told she wasn’t there).

She told him to tell me to call her back in 30 minutes- to tell the admin assistant who I was & that she was expecting my call.

I did so & the admin assistant told me Sally was in an important meeting & couldn’t be disturbed. Asked her when it would be over & she said it would last ALL day.

Called back an hour later, reiterated that I was told to call at that time, etc… She had to “check”, then told me Sally was still in the meeting and she “just really don’t know” when it would be over.

I was sorta pissy by this point. Got my bath, got dressed & drove down there.
A) Monique nearly shit her pants when she saw me walk in & walk right by her desk, going straight to the DON’s office.
B) Sally had not been in ANY meetings today- she thought I was just not calling her back.
C) Sally did not cancel yesterday’s meeting, in fact, she’d been told that **I** called and canceled. When I told her I still had the message where Monique had called & canceled it, her eyes got huge and I’m pretty sure I saw steam coming out of her ears.
D) Seems there is a black girl interested in the job…Monique was giving her the appts, canceling mine & making it look like I was the one sloughing off and not interested to boot.

So yep, racism is alive & well around here…too bad nobody is willing to admit where it’s coming from though. >.<

I start Tuesday at Bulldogs’. I just wonder if Monique will still be there?  Sally looked none too happy as I was leaving and she was heading into the Administrator’s office…

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 16:16:54

    Oh man, I would be so mad. I’m glad you kept on top of it, and I hope ‘Monique’ loses her job. We found racial discrimination when our kids wanted to go to college. they were white, middle class, and the spots went to the ‘under privileged kids of another color. My kids all turned out well, and have jobs, vote, and pay their taxes. No welfare for them.

  2. D.
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 19:12:14

    That’s just plain evil.

  3. Rick
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 20:18:34

    This is so wrong

  4. Old NFO
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 22:23:16

    Wrong… but any bets she ‘gets away’ with it??? Good on ya for not taking no, and going down there yourself!

  5. Wai
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 00:55:28

    Bet you Monique plays the race card when she gets the pink slip.

  6. snigsspot
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 01:29:28

    The administrator called me this evening & apologized for the “incident” and told me it had “been taken care of”.

    What that means, I don’t know. We’ll see.

  7. The Old Man
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 08:34:05

    Continue to carry yourself like the southern lady you are and you will have no problems with ‘Nique. I’m sure that you can leave the impression that she is on very thin ice with her entitled ass and you can’t wait to throw a rock onto the pond without any overt threats. She better pray that you aren’t on the same shift in the same wing with her sorry butt.
    Congrats on the job, darlin’. I hope you still love it a year from now.

  8. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 13:10:54

    Just make sure to have a wingman when the fun starts. As The Old Man says, the race card will come out.
    It is the culture we are in now, and truly unfortunate.

  9. rho
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 18:10:20

    I’m very sorry to read about what happened. I’m sure you’ll do a great job.

  10. Weer'd Beard
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 12:11:30

    I suspect not only will you do a good job but they’re also thankful for all your work exposing an employee that needs extra attention.

  11. snigsspot
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 21:32:03

    Unless they get scared of her taking them to court for discrimination…we’ll see tomorrow.

    When I told Mama about it, her words were, “Well, you know there’s got to be one of those type folks in every workplace. I think it’s Union mandated.”.

    I’m not near as mad as I was, but I’m still irked. Watch me draw that heifer’s name for Christmas gift exchange or something similar. Heh, wonder if she’s ever gotten a Cow Patty for a Christmas gift? Muahahahah.

    And Hi, Weer’d Beard! Nice to “meet” ya! 🙂

