Not No, but Hell No

Place #1 had a final “counter offer” & I went by there today to discuss it with them.  They were so sure I was going to jump at the deal, they were setting me up for a pre-employment physical, drug screening, TB test (PPD), etc…

Told them I’d had a better offer, so they offered me PRN (as needed) which pays pretty good or very part-time (as in one day a month-weekends, shift diff- still pays good) .  Figured I could pick up a Saturday every so often & make a few extra bucks when I wanted to.

So, I started filling out paperwork.

Lots of the usual bullshit until I got to the attendance policy.  Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t it some sorta federal dealio that if your kids are sick (or any other close family member) that you don’t have to be paid, but if it’s legit, they can’t fire you for taking time off to care for them?

“You will have no more than 3 excused absences.  Excused absences are sickness of yourself, documented by a doctor’s excuse.  There are no allowances for sick children, spouses, parents, siblings.  Find someone else to care for your sick relatives.”

OH.HELL.NO.

Now, I know my kids are big enough to be home from school without Mama hovering over them.  But what if there was some reason they DID need me?  I’m fired because my kid is sick enough to need my attention?

That was enough for me right there.  If they’ll treat federal employment law so flippantly, I don’t trust them to go by the book concerning nursing law & I’m not losing my license over their nonsense.

So, the other night when I asked God to make it clear which path I should take, I’m pretty sure He’s the one who highlighted that absenteeism clause for me.

Thanks, God.  I’ll do my best to make you proud!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RICK
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 00:51:46

    Bravo,Screw them!

  2. Old NFO
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 01:38:49

    Good call Snigs, GOOD call 🙂

  3. Crucis
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 11:32:27

    They say, “The devil is in the details.” How, so often, that is true. Glad you found that particular “devil” because if there is one, you can be assured there are more.

    Wise choice and another fine example to ALWAYS read, not more than once, everything before you put your signature on the dotted line.

  4. minimedic
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 17:32:23

    I echo the “hell no” sentiement. Many times over.

    Information on the Family Leave and Medical Act can be found here.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Family_and_Medical_Leave_Act_of_1993

  5. Crucis
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 18:21:25

    Daughter just called and she got an offer at a Nursing & Rehab Center. She interviewed their just after she got her CNA but they had no openings. She dropped by yesterday just to followup and they had an opening and hired her pending all the drug tests, et. al. She could start sometime next week.

    Sometime, ya just gotta be repetitive.

  6. snigsspot
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 10:12:45

    Congrats to your daughter on getting a job. Persistence does pay & sometimes it pays well.

    I just hope she doesn’t get burned out dealing with the CNA job. That is a horribly BIG job, full of tons of responsibilities, all expected for very little pay. The CNAs in the establishments I’ve worked in have worked like dogs, usually for minimum wage. In fact, as a nurse, that will be one area I hope to help improve. Get rid of the crappy help & start paying the good help for the amount of work they’re doing.

