Yawn

I’m tired, but not willing to go to sleep YET.

About 15 minutes ago, I heard glass break somewhere here in the house.  I’ve checked the cabinets & cupboards, the dishwasher & kitchen sink, all the windows…nothing.

The only thing I haven’t checked is the storm door, mainly because I can’t remember if it’s locked or not.  Not willing to open the heavy metal door to find out.

So, I’ve done what most rational folks would do- at least rational in my mind- I’ve exchanged the usual 38s that I keep in the Blackhawk for “just in case” for the heavily loaded 357s.  It’s sitting here in front of me, next to the mouse.  I’ve moved the 30-30 from by the back door, it’s here by the desk.  Now, it’s time to sit quietly & listen.

I HATE night.  Some might accuse me of being scared of the dark.  The dark doesn’t bother me.  It’s what might be crittling about IN the dark that worries me.  I’ve still not adjusted to being the only adult here most nights.  I think that’s the one disservice my parents did to me- I was NEVER alone except for an hour or two, here & there.  I hated being left at the old house alone- the place was literally haunted & it creeped me out beyond words.  I didn’t leave home until I got married.  Left him & moved back home.  Left home again & rented an apartment…that wasn’t too bad.  Left there & worked nights where I was only alone during the day.  Continued the night work or night owl routine, usually making sure I had some sort of evening “accompaniment”.

You’d think being half blind would help.  I feel sorta Helen Keller-ish at night, moving through the house without lights on & without bumping into things…but those are things that I know the location of.  If there’s an “extra” thing in the dark, I might bump into it.

Do.not.want.

I could call the husband & he’d be home in 16 minutes, tops.  I could call the law, they might be here in 30-45 minutes (no offense to LEO, it’s just we’re that far out in the sticks & who knows where the nearest patrolman is right now).  Neither seem appropriate at the present, so I keep sitting here, typing away, hoping to not hear anything else…

Blergh.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Portia
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 07:57:40

    OK it’s daytime now! Update!! I have been there with the .357 sitting next to me! Scary!

  2. Crucis
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 11:37:39

    I’ve a suggestion. Nightlights are your friend. After my wife almost tripped over our black cat, she’s installed small automatic nightlights in the bathrooms and hallways. They use small “Christmas tree” bulbs and have a sensor to turn them off during the day. They produce just enough light to allow you to see objects (and the occasional cat) so you won’t be surprised.

    They provide enough light to illuminate a target if need be.

  3. snigsspot
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 12:13:18

    I leave a lamp on in the living room at night & we have a security light outside. Nothing short of a huge halogen light will light up things enough where a night-blind person can see adequately though. It’s not interior illumination, or more the lack of, that bugs me. I don’t know how to explain it I guess. I’ll just admit to being a wuss & not liking night time. 😉

    A thorough check this morning revealed no more than last night- nothing broken that I or the husband could find. I heard it though, as did Lucy (the Doxel)- she growled for a bit anyway. Weird.

  4. Old NFO
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 22:43:56

    Dogs are your best friend at night… They will alert on anything unusual, but good call on upping the ‘power’ 🙂

  5. Rick
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 19:28:30

    I have heavy duty loads for my Glock my Remington 870,And the AR

  6. Charles Pergiel
    Oct 20, 2010 @ 16:53:06

    Racoon tripping over a bottle in the crawl space under the house?

