Leapin’ Lizards!

Thursday I was sitting here at the desk, minding my own business when from the corner of my eye, I saw movement behind the blinds here at the bedroom window.

Before I could look and see what moved, it vaulted from the window to the desk & skittered across like he owned the place.

He was promptly caught & pitched out the back door, over the heads of the cats, into a nice bush.  He looked happy.

Friday morning, I was fixing my breakfast, when once again I saw something on the floor just as I was about to make a step.  Figured it was a spider, stepped back, looked again and saw-

Once again, tossed this one over the cats’ heads to the bush.

Yesterday was lizardless.  But today I am sitting in the recliner & see this scoot across the floor-

Now, I love wildlife, but I’ve had enough of my house being a lizard sanctuary.  I tossed that little son of a bitch straight to the cats.

If he lives, maybe he’ll go back & tell the others to STAY OUT!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lnda
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 19:43:05

    Yikes, but I get mice. I hate mice! My sis has an influx of gnats. Guess the critters feel the change of the season!

  2. Charles Pergiel
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 20:02:31

    Cool photos!

  3. Rick
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 20:18:32

    The plus part is these critters catch bugs like roaches.
    I encouraged them to stay around when I lived in Fl.

  4. snigsspot
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 22:28:16

    They’re more than welcome here, Rick…just outside, NOT in my bedroom.

    Thanks, Charles. Would love to take credit, but alas, they were the most perfect examples google had to offer.

    I have 9 cats living outside…no mice here! Not sure how the lizards are getting past them, unless I did bring them in with the potted plants.

    I’ve heard to get rid of gnats, run the kitchen sink full of soapy dishwater & that will attract them. 😉

  5. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 22:28:37

    Nice Pix!
    Could have used that last one for bait.
    And like Rick says, they keep the six and eight leg creepy crawlies under control. In Wichita, we had three to five large toads take up residence after the landscaping was done. No roach, spider or other undesirable insects.

  6. Old NFO
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 08:46:27

    They don’t eat much (mostly bugs), and usually don’t take a dump when they’re walking across the ceiling… 🙂

  7. Crucis
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 11:47:56

    Your biggest concern should be—if a lizard can get in, so can snakes. They’re looking for places to hibernate. You don’t want a big surprise come next Spring.

  8. snigsspot
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 11:54:21

    Exactly what I was thinking, Crucis! I’m figuring the 1st couple hitched a ride in when I brought in house plants the other evening. The final, BIG plant came in last night & you better believe there was a thorough checking for creepy crawlies.

    A snake in the house would prompt me moving. To Siberia. Or beyond. I can see myself blowing holes in the floor, bed, etc… wherever I might find a snake in the house. Not a good thing.

    I’m now going to go off & be paranoid. Thanks! 😀

