I <3 My BFF

Crappy pic of me, but my excuse is that I was at the lake fishing since 0700 & only one fish was caught.

And it WASN’T even edible!  A stupid, HUGE shad (like as big as my foot).  I got in some quality reading time though & finished off an entire Agatha Christie book I got eons ago, but never got around to reading.  It was cool & breezy and I was downright comfy sitting in my lounge chair…

Until 2 Deliverance rejects showed up.  Seriously, I’m pretty sure I heard banjos.  And they didn’t have a full set of teeth between the two of them.  AND they made me downright uncomfortable feeling.  The Ruger was in fairly comfortable reach though, so I didn’t feel too freaked out.  I’m sorry, I know it’s against park rules to have a firearm, but in this day & age, I’m less comfortable with the thought of being without it than I am for getting in trouble for having it.  Not to mention, nobody will know I have it unless I HAVE to use it.  A defense lawyer is probably cheaper than a nice funeral or a gazillion visits to the shrink to get over being raped.

Anyway, it was Angie’s daughter’s birthday & we went over to celebrate by grilling some burgers & dogs.

She’s the best friend I’ve ever had…only took 40+ years to find her.  Funny thing, she’s only a year older than me, but apparently we ran in different circles in school.

Sure feels good to finally have a true best friend.

🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rho
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 23:50:28

    Am I wrong to assume that Angie and you were in nursing school together? I made some great friends in nursing school with whom I still stay in contact. There’s something about suffering together and having a common “enemy” that helps one find that good friend (s).

  2. snigsspot
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 10:33:58

    Yes ma’am. We didn’t know each other prior to 3rd quarter, despite having gone to school together and living only about 8 miles apart.

    I made a lot of friends- but most were at a very different station in life. Newly divorced, newly married, new parents, new grandparents. Angie & I are 1 year apart, our kids are about the same age, she’s married, same political/religious views, etc… Makes for a good friend to be somewhat into the same things. 🙂

  3. wzwwevwac
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 04:02:34

    boom chica wowow

