I Just Be Damned

I have NEVER had blood pressure troubles in my life.

I was mad as hell one time & thought I was about to have a stroke and my BP wasn’t but 110/65.  “Normal” for me has always been 90/60ish.

Today though, I got strangled drinking some water that “hit wrong” and I saw sparks after I finished coughing up my spleen.

Hasn’t been that long since I was at the eye doc’s & my eyes are “healthy”, so I decided to take my blood pressure.

160/90.

Two hours later, after remaining calm & quiet- 169/98.

It’s back to 160/90 again now and yep, I called the doc.  I’ll be monitoring it twice daily, if not more, then taking the numbers in on the 27th for him to look over.

I’m hoping it’s late occurring stress or something.  I’m always calm during stressful stuff, then breakdown afterward.  Maybe this is a year’s worth of stress making itself known. >.<

ETA:  Been think, think, thinking about what in the hell could cause a normal, healthy 40 year old to have high blood pressure.  Beginning to wonder if it might have something to do with the 800 mg, four-times-a-day regimen of Advil I’ve been on two weeks a month for the last year.  We’ll see.  Switching back over to coated aspirin & going from there.

Le sigh.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Glenn Mark Cassel
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 01:44:30

    I guess I had a hand in this one. That 170 over 110 on Wednesday was a real eye opener. And I have some factors, like sports drinks to the excessive, processed nukeable lunch items, coffee to the extreme are among them.
    Other factors are my age(56) and being down to one kidney. My doc had a term for the last one. I have trouble thinking about it much less spelling it.

  2. Old NFO
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 07:37:46

    Get that checked please… :-}

  3. snigsspot
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 11:22:10

    Back down to 120/69 this morning, holding steady.

    NFO- Even if the numbers are all perfect this next week, I’m going to the doc on Monday. Something is out of whack & I want to know what it is.

    And Glenn- I can’t believe you done gone & gived me the high blood. (That’s how 90% of the folks around here would have said that 😀 )

  4. Crucis
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 13:23:45

    Until a few years ago, I had low blood pressure—usually in the 100-110/60-65. I was that way for decades. About six years ago, I went in for my quarterly check. I’d started on some cholesterol meds and they were working on the correct dosage when my blood pressure went to 135-138/75-80 for two consecutive quarters. I’m been on various meds since.

    When I was checked just before my surgery last week, it was 110/65.

    Age, stress, family history, just about anything, it seems, can cause a change. Good that you keep watching it. My wife checks her BP daily and keeps a journal. She wants to get off hers and it appears to be working for her.

  5. Mariah B, Baseman Studios
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 13:01:31

    I haven’t kept up with your blog like I should have, but this scared me!!

    My normal is 120/80… It’s usually right in that range, barring whether I’ve had my morning coffee or not.

    I hope you can figure out what’s going on, even if it did go back to normal. Nothing like that gets by snigs, that’s for sure. 🙂

